YALLA YALLA

Urban interventions – Just do it!

Yalla Yalla! Studio for change is a team of young and innovative city planners with an emphasis on architecture, urban intervention and urban development. We met with the two founders Robin Lang und Wulf Kramer for an interview.

Robin, why Yalla Yalla? Are things moving too slowly for you guys?

Well, that’s one way to look at it. But, you know, for us Yalla Yalla (“let’s go”) is just the way we approach projects, think them up and then simply get them started. Like we did with our first project, “Buschbad 2014.”

Wulf, you see yourselves as a “Studio for change“. Why is change so important?

Change is happening and all around us. Period! We want to put a positive spin on it by creating new ideas and approaches through our projects. But that’s not all, we also look at public spaces or abandoned urban wasteland in the same way.

 

Wulf and Robin create ideas while sailing on Mannheim´s river “Altrhein”. One item on the agenda: how to finally raise the potential of a city with two rivers.


In 2016 you moved into the Mannheim Creative Business Center C-HUB. How do you see your future there?

We are totally happy! Not only is the building an architect’s dream, they also put a lot of thought into infrastructure and organization. It’s a perfect fit for the things we want to do. We feel that every day.

You’re very versatile. You not only provide the services any old architect’s office would offer, like planning and modernizations, but you also develop concepts for tradeshows and events and „new forms of space appropriation“. What does that mean anyway?

Here we are talking about the use of vacant or abandoned urban spaces. Our intention is to breathe new life into desolate neighborhoods, using pop-up installations or developing concepts for temporary use of abandoned sites. What’s important to us is showing the potential for transforming spaces into something positive to look at. How you can create innovative concepts that address social needs and embrace the idea of the common good.


You run workshops, give talks and are welcome guests to any panel discussion. How important is it for a startup to be “out” there, be part of the “scene” – and how do you still manage to get some work done?

We really are happy about every invite, since it is a sign that our projects have relevance and weight among experts. It’s a good opportunity to meet like-minded people from other cities to talk shop, swap ideas and stay in the loop. I guess on average we give one talk a month and that leaves enough time to get some work done.

How innovative do you have to be as an architect to stick out from the crowd?

To be able to think and act outside the box seems even more important these days. Many of our projects are not only about good designs that meet certain technical specifications – that’s a given. But there is more to it since we also put a lot of thought into a project’s later use or its social impact. The same goes for marketing concepts that come with the territory and play an ever increasing role.

 

You seem to love floating new products like the “mobile kitchen“. The line between architecture and product design, is it getting more and more blurred?  

Definitely! But I believe that’s always been the case somehow. The tools and methods are pretty much the same, just on a smaller scale.

In 2014 you made a big splash with your idea of a floating swimming pool in Mannheim’s Jungbusch neighborhood. Whatever happened to your “Buschbad“ vision?

We have to admit we sort of put the project on a back burner. But we are still jazzed up about it and are looking for investors to come onboard. The minute we can free up some time, we will be on it again.  And in case the “Buschbad” should not pan out, there will be some other project at and around Mannheim’s waterfront. You can bet on it.

Why is Mannheim a good city for startups?

Putting aside our feelings for Mannheim for a second, we can’t help but see the many advantages for startups here. Number one, city hall is very supportive of young companies and number two, the region’s economy is in very good shape and thriving. And the many startup centers are an important factor in this.

What bugs you about Mannheim?

That there is no Buschbad!

What do you love about Mannheim?

The local accent and that people here are straight-shooters.

Your best advice for startups?

Just do it!


Looking back, what kind of mistakes could you have done without?

So far, no major glitches, but we haven’t been around that long yet. Ask us again in a couple of years and we’ll certainly have more to tell you.

Do you listen to music when you work? And if so, what kind of music?

Not so often. But when we listen to music, it’s German rap classics most of the time.

Do you see Yalla Yalla bigger in the future?

We’ll see. A little bigger would be all right. I believe we are on the right track.

Where are your stomping grounds here in Mannheim? You got a favorite spot or hang-out here?  

Best place is on or by the water.

When will all your dreams have come true?

The moment Mannheim’s waterfront is more attractive than Copenhagen’s.

 

Yalla Yalla

 

Robin Lang, Dipl-Ing.

set up his own business with his Office for Visualizations and 3 D Graphics while still majoring in architecture. Design in urban spaces is also one of his specialties.

 

Wulf Kramer, Dipl-Ing.

majored in architecture at the University of Stuttgart and TU Delft. His projects are a true reflection of his enthusiasm for temporary use of spaces, new production methods and new approaches to urban development. Since 2014, he has been working at the Institute for Sustainability, Building Construction and Design of the University of Stuttgart.




Recent Posts


MAFINEX

covexo

In the Mannheim technology center MAFINEX, three friends are revolutionizing the “cloud for developers”. Lukas Gentele, Fabian Kramm and Daniel…

YALLA YALLA

Urbane Interventionen. Einfach machen!

Yalla Yalla! Studio for change ist ein Team junger und innovativer Planer mit Fokus auf Architektur, urbane Interventionen und Stadtentwicklung. Wir haben die Gründer Robin Lang und Wulf Kramer zum Interview getroffen.

Robin, warum Yalla Yalla? Kann’s Euch nicht schnell genug gehen?

So könnte man das natürlich auch sehen. Tatsächlich verstehen wir aber unter Yalla Yalla (übersetzt „los geht’s“) unsere Art an Projekte heranzugehen – Projekte selbst initiieren und einfach loslegen. So ist auch unser erstes Projekt „Buschbad 2014“ entstanden.

Wulf, Ihr definiert Euch als „Studio for change“. Warum ist Wandel wichtig?

Wandel findet statt und wir möchten ihn positiv mitgestalten und durch unsere Projekte Ideen und Ansätze dafür aufzeigen. Nicht nur, aber zum Beispiel auch für den öffentlichen Raum oder ungenutzte städtische Brachflächen.

 

Wulf und Robin lassen ihre Ideen auch gern mal auf dem Mannheimer Altrhein segeln. Ein wichtiges Ziel auf der Yalla Yalla-Agenda: die Potenziale einer Stadt an zwei Flüssen heben.

 


2016 seid Ihr ins Mannheimer Kreativwirtschaftszentrum C-HUB eingezogen. Wie sind die Aussichten?

Wir sind total glücklich. Nicht nur aus architektonischer Sicht ist das Gebäude gelungen, sondern auch organisationstechnisch sehr durchdacht. Wir haben hier ein ideales Umfeld für unsere Schwerpunkte. Das merken wir immer wieder.

Ihr bietet ein großes Spektrum: von klassischen architektonischen Leistungen wie Planungen und Modernisierungen über Messe- und Eventkonzeptionen bis hin zu „neuen Formen der Raumaneignung“. Was ist damit gemeint?

Damit meinen wir die Nutzung von Räumen wie Restflächen oder Leerständen im urbanen Kontext. Hier versuchen wir schwierigen oder unattraktiven Räumen durch Pop-Up Installationen oder Zwischennutzungsformate neues Leben einzuhauchen. Wichtig ist uns dabei, Potenziale aufzuzeigen, Wahrnehmungen von Orten positiv zu wandeln. Aber auch neue, gemeinwohlorientierte und sozialinnovative Modelle zu entwickeln.


Ihr gebt Workshops, haltet Vorträge und seid gern gesehene Gäste in Talkrunden. Wie wichtig ist es für ein Startup „draußen“ präsent zu sein – und wie kommt man dann noch zum Arbeiten?

Wir freuen uns tatsächlich über jede Einladung, weil das auch ein Zeichen dafür ist, dass unsere Projekte im fachlichen Diskurs eine Relevanz besitzen. Es ist eine gute Chance um Gleichgesinnte aus anderen Städten kennenzulernen und in einen Austausch mit ihnen zu treten. Ich glaube im Schnitt halten wir vielleicht einmal pro Monat einen Vortrag, da kommt man schon noch zum Arbeiten.

Wie innovativ muss man als Architekt heute sein, um einzigartig zu sein?

Vielleicht ist Interdisziplinarität die noch viel wichtigere Eigenschaft heutzutage. Bei vielen unserer Projekte geht es in der Regel nicht nur um einen guten Entwurf, der den funktionalen Erfordernissen gerecht wird. Wir setzen uns auch immer sehr stark mit der späteren Nutzung und deren sozialen Auswirkungen auseinander. Auch begleitende marketingstrategische Konzepte nehmen eine immer größere Rolle ein.


Ihr erfindet auch gern mal Produkte wie „eine mobile Küche“. Sind die Grenzen zwischen Architektur und Produktdesign heute zunehmend fließend?
  

Ja. Aber ich glaube das waren sie schon immer irgendwie. Das Handwerkszeug und Herangehensweise sind ja nahezu identisch. Nur der Maßstab ist eben etwas kleiner.

2014 habt Ihr mit Eurer Idee für ein schwimmendes Schwimmbad im Mannheimer Hafenviertel Jungbusch für viel Aufsehen gesorgt. Was ist aus der Vision „Buschbad“ geworden?

Wir müssen uns leider eingestehen, dass wir das Projekt in letzter Zeit ein wenig stiefmütterlich behandelt haben. Dennoch juckt es uns in den Fingern und wir sind auf der Suche nach Investoren, die einsteigen möchten. Sobald es unsere Zeit wieder zulässt möchten wir die Sache wieder angehen. Und wenn es mit dem Buschbad nicht klappen sollte dann wird es ein anderes Projekt an Mannheims Wasserlagen geben. So viel steht fest.

Warum ist Mannheim eine gute Stadt für Gründer?

Wenn wir einmal von unserer emotionalen Bindung zu Mannheim absehen, dann gibt es hier auch objektiv betrachtet jede Menge Vorteile für Gründer hier. Zum einen finden wir, dass die Verwaltung selbst viel für junge Unternehmen tut. Zum anderen ist die Region wirtschaftlich gut aufgestellt und es tut sich sehr viel. Nicht zuletzt sind auch die vielen Gründerzentren ein wichtiger Faktor.

Was nervt an Mannheim?

Dass es kein Buschbad gibt.

Was gefällt Euch an Mannheim?

Der Dialekt und die Ehrlichkeit.

Euer bester Rat für Gründer?

Machen!

Welchen Fehler beim Gründen hättet Ihr Euch rückblickend gern erspart?

Bisher lief tatsächlich alles relativ glatt, aber uns gibt’s ja auch noch nicht so lange. In 2-3 Jahren werden wir da mit Sicherheit mehr drüber sagen können.

Läuft bei Euch Musik bei der Arbeit? Und falls ja: welche?

Selten. Aber wenn, dann sind es meistens deutsche Rap Classics.

Wie groß soll Yalla Yalla werden?

Wir werden sehen. Aber ein bisschen größer darf es gerne werden. Ich glaube, da sind wir auch gerade auf einem ganz guten Weg.

Wo seid Ihr unterwegs, wenn Ihr mal nicht unterwegs seid? Habt ihr einen heimlichen Lieblingsort in Mannheim?  

Am liebsten auf’m oder am Wasser.

Wann ist das Lebensziel erreicht?

Wenn Mannheims Wasserlagen attraktiver als die von Kopenhagen sind.

 

Yalla Yalla

 

Robin Lang, Dipl-Ing.

hat sich neben seinem Architekturstudium mit einem Büro für Visualisierungen und 3D-Grafiken selbstständig gemacht. Entwurfsaufgaben im urbanen Raum zählen ebenfalls zu einem seiner Schwerpunkte.

 

Wulf Kramer, Dipl-Ing.

studierte Architektur an der Uni Stuttgart und der TU Delft. In seinen Projekten spiegelt sich seine Begeisterung für Zwischennutzungen, neue Produktionsmethoden und neue Formen der Stadtentwicklung wider. Seit 2014 arbeitet er als Assistent am Institut für Nachhaltigkeit, Baukonstruktion und Entwerfen der Universität Stuttgart.




Neueste Beiträge