SOCULENT

Lilli Leirich researches, teaches and lives entrepreneurship.

Her passions are startups, pioneering spirit and new entrepreneurial cultures. Lilli Leirich is actively researching the subjects Social Entrepreneurship und Intrapreneurship, is teaching at the Dual University Baden-Württemberg (DHBW), is a consultant for startups, and has recently founded her own business called soculent. We felt it was definitely time for an interview!

 

Social Entrepreneurship is a hot topic at the moment, and is often defined in different ways. How would you define the subject?

The topic has finally caught on in Germany, which is great! There is no standardized definition though. The way I see it, Social Entrepreneurship is a systemic and integrated form of Corporate Social Responsibility, including the environmental dimension. So, any business that positions itself in a holistic way, meaning it is not merely focused on profit maximization, can be defined as a Social Enterprise. In a narrower sense, Social Entrepreneurship is about finding an innovative and entrepreneurial solution for a societal challenge. Making a profit is allowed!

 

Lilli Leirich and Carsten Huber: Founders of soculent.

 

A new philosophy of business?

Taking into account that we live in a capitalistic system, I would rather see it as a change of paradigm. Values are changing. Money is no longer an end in itself, but rather becoming a means to an end. In our society money has too many functions, and is present at all levels of our lives. Most people go to work to make money. They slave through their days, longing for closing time and the weekends – instead of loving what they do every day. Studies have shown, that 75% of Germans have internally quit their jobs. This is the reason we are seeing things like New Work, Social Entrepreneurship and Intrapreneurship – societal innovations, if you so will.

 

Like a second office: you can also work well in the AGÁTA Café in Mannheim.

 

Where does your passion for these subjects come from?

It stems from the fact that the way we do business and consume things, is just not sustainable! During my studies on business administration, I began to understand a lot of things, and I asked myself whether it was really my problem, that the neoclassical economic theory just didn’t make any sense to me. The issues lies in what we are taught, and what we are not taught at the universities! I began looking for alternatives. This led me to discover plural economics, common weal economics, and finally Social Entrepreneurship.

What perspective does Social Entrepreneurship hold?

I am convinced, that Social Entrepreneurship can be an effective way of doing things. Politics is also important, but that seems to be a lot of empty words to me, and is always closely tied to the industry, to put it mildly. Social Entrepreneurship, on the other hand, is about taking action and creating something! Doing something you love, which serves the interests of society, and which makes you a living! Of course this may sound a lot easier than it really is, but it is possible!

 

 

So this is the reason for your own startup?

Indeed! I founded soculent together with Carsten Huber earlier this year. It is a cultural business. In Mannheim we have a very vital and active startup ecosystem, in which I am quite active myself. Especially over the past two years things have really taken off, and I truly feel, that I am in just the right place, at just the right time. In January of 2017 I began getting into the scene here, I dealt with the issues regarding starting up and got in touch with the spirit of the startup culture. Since then it was really only a matter of time, for me to create something of my own.

 

 

What is soculent all about?

The name comes from Social Cultural Entrepreneurship. We are comprised of two business units. The first deals with the issue, that despite having a great music scene, Mannheim is in dire need of rehearsal space. We intend to change this. Initially we looked for halls, but didn’t find any. This led to the idea of repurposing containers. These won’t be shipping containers, but larger modular units. We have secured several potential locations and investors, but are still in the development phase.

 

 

What drives you guys?

It’s not about money, though we are able to make a living from the work. It’s also not about us personally, but about the initiative itself! We want soculent to create a real cultural benefit, and to support the creative and social potential of the region. Starting with providing musicians with a place to make music, we want to create creative space – which is also our slogan.

 

 

What brought you to this niche? 

Carsten is a musician. As an artist he unites serious and entertaining music. This is a trait, which you don’t often encounter, as these are two very different forms of art. He plays in bands and for many years was also head of the orchestra office of the Mannheim Philharmonic Orchestra. As a result, he became aware of the situation in mannheim regarding rehearsal space. He visited me during my startup consultancy and told me about it. I was excited about the project, so one thing led to another. At some point I had gotten so deep into the project, that I didn’t want to quit, and then Carsten asked me onboard! 

What is the second area of your business?

We call it “Creative Paradigm”, and it deals with bringing together creative artists and businesses. We do this through several different forms of events. The program is built upon three pillars: first of which is Leadership Experience. We offer executives the possibility to achieve different perspectives on leadership, by connecting them with band-leaders or conductors. 

And the third business area? 

It deals with the issue of Social Intrapreneurship. We want to help businesses identify the change-makers, and to support them. The third pillar came about through our network, and a few funny ideas: Stakeholder Commitment Events are creative and interactive events with artists, musicians and so forth – instead of the usual climbing, bowling or soccer type of business.

 

The soculent-makers at a possible location for sample containers: under Mannheims Jungbuschbrücke.

 

What exactly does Intrapreneurship mean?

It describes a form of business, which has a close eye on what is happening internally. Employees are encouraged to develop their own ideas! Though it really depends on how businesses deal with the concept. Large corporations are sporadically implementing structures of the kind. For example they might provide times and spaces for employees to develop innovative business ideas and creative projects –  in the interest of the Company. First and foremost this kind of thing is not about creating spin-off companies.  

Companies wouldn’t want that of course …

No. But the idea is often mistaken for this. We just received cancellation for an Intrapreneuership event. Their reasoning was, that it is irresponsible to allow employees to be enticed away. This is not what we aim to do!

Your aim is to keep the people with the good ideas in the business?

Yes. Intrapreneuership is about supporting self-realization and personal fulfilment within the businesses. It is also about strengthening the identification and connection with the businesses. If a business does not support its talented employees, those that are interested in pushing their own ideas, then the danger they might lose their drive and quit, is quite high. We see a potential in every employee, to further a businesses agility and innovative capacity. If the management is not willing to make room for this potential, then it will go to waste.

 

 

Can Intrapreneuership be learned?

It can! All you need is entrepreneurial spirit and a certain skillset. Intrapreneuership is nothing more than entrepreneurship within a business. It can most definitely be learned! I am currently developing a certificate course at the DHBW Mannheim, dealing with Social Entrepreneurship, Intrapreneuership and innovation development. It will kick off coming Spring. I am also currently writing a thesis on Social Entrepreneurship, at the University of Trier. I am researching the possibilities of SocEnt within the realm of DACH-L. Regarding Intrapreneurship, I am currently planning a small explorative study, focusing on small and medium sized businesses. The research results will directly flow into the seminar. All in all, my research is very practice-oriented, as I wish to create real benefits with my work, be it for DHBW, as well as for the free market.

 

 

Last question: why Mannheim?

Well, to be honest, DHBW offered me a job, with the possibility to attain a doctorate as well. This was what I was looking for, so I came to Mannheim. In the meantime great things have happened here. For example I ran into my oldest friend from grade school, who I hadn’t been in touch with for over 15 years. I also found out, that my ancestors come from Mannheim – I am Russian German. I want to say, that I feel emotionally connected to Mannheim. And what keeps me here is the feeling, that one can really make things happen here. This feeling comes from the organizations, institutions and people of this city, which I was lucky enough to get to know and work with over the last three years.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG

Photos: Daniel Lukac




Recent Posts

SOCULENT

Lilli Leirich erforscht, lehrt und lebt Social Entrepreneurship

Startups, Gründergeist und neue Unternehmenskulturen sind ihre Leidenschaft. Lilli Leirich forscht zu den Themen Social Entrepreneurship und Intrapreneurship, lehrt an der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg (DHBW), berät Startups – und hat jetzt auch ihr eigenes Unternehmen soculent gegründet. Höchste Zeit für ein Interview!

 

Social Entrepreneurship ist ein populäres Thema, das unterschiedlich definiert wird. Lilli, wie definierst Du es?

Ja, das Thema scheint erfreulicherweise wirklich angekommen zu sein in Deutschland! Eine einheitliche Definition dafür gibt es aber nicht. Nach meinem Verständnis ist Social Entrepreneurship systemische, also ganzheitliche Corporate Social Responsibility, inklusive der ökologischen Dimension. Wenn ein Unternehmen also holistisch aufgestellt ist und nicht nur auf Gewinnmaximierung aus ist, dann handelt es sich im Grunde um ein Social Enterprise. Im engeren Sinne beschreibt Social Entrepreneurship das Lösen einer gesellschaftlichen Herausforderung auf innovative und unternehmerische Art und Weise. Das heißt: Geld verdienen ist erlaubt!

 

Lilli Leirich und Carsten Huber: Gründer von soculent.

 

Eine neue Philosophie des Unternehmertums?

Vor dem Hintergrund, dass wir in einem kapitalistischen System leben, würde ich es eher als Paradigmenwechsel bezeichnen. Die Werte ändern sich. Geld wird vom Selbstzweck wieder zum Mittel zum Zweck. Geld hatte bislang zu viele Funktionen. Es ist auf allen Ebenen des menschlichen Lebens präsent. Die meisten gehen zur Arbeit, um Geld zu verdienen. Man lebt für den Feierabend und für das Wochenende – statt jeden Tag zu lieben was man tut. Studien zeigen, dass 75 Prozent der Deutschen ArbeitnehmerInnen bereits innerlich gekündigt haben. Genau deshalb gibt es Bewegungen wie New Work, Social Entrepreneurship und Intrapreneurship – soziale Innovationen eben.

 

Wie ein zweites Büro: im Mannheimer AGÁTA Café lässt es sich auch gut arbeiten.

 

Warum bist Du so leidenschaftlich an diesen Themen interessiert? 

Weil unsere Art zu wirtschaften und zu konsumieren einfach nicht nachhaltig ist! Während meines BWL-Studiums habe ich viele Dinge nicht begriffen und mich gefragt, ob es wirklich an mir liegt, dass mir die neoklassische Wirtschaftstheorie nicht in die Birne will. In dem, was an den Hochschulen gelehrt wird und nicht gelehrt wird, liegt nämlich das Problem! Dann habe ich begonnen, nach Alternativen zu suchen. Dabei bin ich unter anderem auf plurale Ökonomik oder Gemeinwohlökonomie gestoßen und schließlich auch auf Social Entrepreneurship.

Welche Perspektive hat Social Entrepreneurship?

Ich bin davon überzeugt, das Social Entrepreneurship ein effektiver Weg ist. Politik ist auch wichtig, aber für mich erstmal abgehakt als viel Blabla und ohnehin sehr nah an der Wirtschaft, um es mal vorsichtig auszudrücken. Social Entrepreneurship heißt dagegen: selbst aktiv werden und machen! Etwas tun, was mich erfüllt, dem Gemeinwohl dient und wovon ich leben kann! Natürlich klingt es jetzt einfacher als es tatsächlich ist. Aber es geht!

 

 

Und deshalb jetzt auch das eigene Startup?

Ja, ich habe Anfang des Jahres mit Carsten Huber die Firma soculent gegründet, ein Kulturunternehmen. Wir haben in Mannheim ein sehr vitales, aktives Startup-Ökosystem, in dem ich auch sehr aktiv bin. Gerade in den letzten zwei Jahren hat sich in der Stadt viel getan und ich habe das Gefühl, genau zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort zu sein. Im Januar 2017 habe ich angefangen, mich hier zu tummeln, mich so viel mit Gründungsthemen beschäftigt und den Spirit erlebt, dass es eigentlich nur eine Frage der Zeit war, bis ich selbst gründen würde.

 

 

Für was steht Euer Unternehmen soculent?

Der Name entstand aus Social Cultural Entrepreneurship. Wir haben zwei Geschäftsbereiche. Der erste beschäftigt sich mit dem Problem, dass es in Mannheim zwar eine tolle Musikszene, aber zu wenig Proberäume gibt. Diese wollen wir schaffen. Wir haben anfangs nach Hallen gesucht, aber nichts gefunden und sind dann auf die Idee gekommen, Container umzubauen. Aber nicht Schiffscontainer, sondern größere, also eher Modulbau als Containerbau. Wir haben bereits mehrere Standorte dafür und auch potentielle Investoren, sind aber noch in der Entwicklungsphase.

 

 

Und was treibt Euch an?

Uns geht es nicht um die Kohle – davon leben können wollen wir natürlich trotzdem – und nicht um uns als Personen, sondern um die Sache! Wir möchten mit soculent einen kulturellen Mehrwert schaffen, das künstlerische und soziale Potenzial der Region fördern. Angefangen damit, dass man Räume zur Verfügung stellt, in denen die MusikerInnen proben können. Kreativen Raum schaffen eben – unser Slogan.

 

 

Wie seid ihr auf diese Nische gekommen?

Carsten ist Musiker und vereint Ernste Musik und Unterhaltungsmusik. Das trifft man ganz selten, das sind eigentlich zwei ganz verschiedene Kulturen. Er spielt selbst in Bands und war lange Zeit Leiter des Orchesterbüros der Mannheimer Philharmoniker. Und im Zuge all dessen ist er auf das Proberaumproblem in Mannheim aufmerksam geworden. Er kam dann zu mir in die Gründungsberatung und hat mir davon erzählt. Ich fand das Projekt toll und so kam eins zum anderen. Irgendwann hatte ich mich so reingehängt, dass ich nicht mehr raus wollte, als er mich fragte, ob ich einsteigen will!

Und der zweite Geschäftsbereich?

Den zweiten Bereich nennen wir „Creative Paradigm“. Hier wollen wir Kulturschaffende mit Unternehmen zusammenbringen mithilfe von verschiedenen Eventformaten. Da haben wir drei Säulen: Zum ersten Leadership Experience, womit wir Führungskräften die Möglichkeit bieten, eine andere Führungsperspektive einzunehmen, in dem wir sie mit Band-Leadern oder Dirigenten zusammenbringen.

Und der dritte Geschäftsbereich?

Umfasst das Thema Social Intrapreneurship. Hier wollen wir Unternehmen helfen, die Change-Maker im Unternehmen zu identifizieren und sie zu unterstützen. Die dritte Säule ergab sich aus unserem Netzwerk und ein paar lustigen Ideen: Stakeholder Commitment Events sind kreative, interaktive Formate mit KünstlerInnen, MusikerInnen und Co. – statt immer nur Klettern, Bowlen oder Fußball.

 

Die soculent-Macher an einem möglichen Standort für Probe-Container: unter der Mannheimer Jungbuschbrücke.

 

Was genau bedeutet Intrapreneurship?

Binnenunternehmertum! Dass MitarbeiterInnen in einem Unternehmen ihre eigenen Ideen entwickeln können! Die Frage ist, wie Unternehmen damit umgehen. Größere Konzerne schaffen bereits vereinzelt Strukturen und stellen beispielsweise Zeiten und Räume zur Verfügung, damit MitarbeiterInnen innovative Geschäftsideen und kreative Projekte realisieren können – im Sinne des Unternehmens. Denn es geht ja hierbei in erster Linie nicht um Ausgründungen.

Das können Unternehmen ja auch kaum wollen …

Nein, aber darauf wird es oft reduziert. Wir haben gerade erst eine Absage für ein Intrapreneuership-Format erhalten. Die Begründung war: Es sei nicht zu verantworten, dass MitarbeiterInnen abgeworben werden. Dabei ist das überhaupt nicht das Ziel.

Das Ziel ist es, Leute mit guten Ideen im Unternehmen zu halten?

Ja, denn mit Intrapreneuership ist einerseits die Selbstverwirklichung und persönliche Sinnfindung innerhalb eines Unternehmens verbunden. Andererseits geht es um eine stärkere Identifikation und Bindung. Gibt ein Unternehmen seinen Talenten, die eigene Ideen vorantreiben wollen, keine Chance, steigt die Gefahr, dass sie ihre Motivation verlieren und am Ende vielleicht kündigen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass in jedem Mitarbeiter und jeder Mitarbeiterin das Potenzial steckt, zur Steigerung von Agilität und Innovationskraft eines Unternehmens beizutragen. Dieses Potenzial wird verschwendet, wenn die Führung keinen Raum dafür schafft.

 

 

Kann man Intrapreneurship lernen?

Entrepreneurship kann man lernen! Dafür braucht es Gründergeist und Fähigkeiten. Intrapreneurship ist nichts anderes als Entrepreneurship im Unternehmen – also kann man auch das lernen. An der DHBW Mannheim entwickle und plane ich gerade einen Zertifikatslehrgang zu den Themen Social Entrepreneurship, Intrapreneuership und Innovationsentwicklung, der im nächsten Frühjahr seine Premiere haben wird. Zu Ersterem promoviere ich auch gerade an der Universität Trier. Ich untersuche die Unterstützungslandschaft für SocEnt im DACH-L-Raum. Zu Intrapreneurship plane ich derzeit eine kleine explorative Studie mit Fokus auf kleine und mittlere Unternehmen. Die Forschungsergebnisse sollen direkt in den Lehrgang einfließen. Meine Forschung ist insgesamt sehr praxisorientiert, denn ich will einen Mehrwert schaffen und die Themen voranbringen, sowohl an der DHBW als auch in der freien Wirtschaft.

 

 

Letzte Frage: warum Mannheim?

Naja, zunächst, ganz unromantisch, war es die DHBW in Mannheim, die mir sofort eine Stelle mit Möglichkeit zur Promotion anbot, nach der ich gezielt suchte – das brachte mich nach Mannheim. In der Zwischenzeit sind mir wunderbare Dinge hier passiert. Beispielsweise traf ich zufällig auf der Straße meine beste Grundschulfreundin, die ich anderthalb Jahrzehnte aus den Augen verloren hatte. Ich erfuhr außerdem, dass meine Vorfahren – ich bin Russlanddeutsche – aus Mannheim stammen. Will sagen, ich fühle mich der Stadt emotional schon sehr verbunden. Und was mich hier auch hält, ist das Gefühl, dass ich von hier aus wirklich etwas bewegen kann. Und dieses Gefühl geben mir die Organisationen, Institutionen und Menschen, die hier ansässig sind, die ich in den letzten drei Jahren kennenlernen durfte und mit denen ich zusammenarbeiten darf.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG

Fotos: Daniel Lukac




Neueste Beiträge