Opal Analytics

Real-time big data for trade

Every day supermarkets and bakeries waste tonnes of food. Marc Huber and Alexander Gossmann have made it their mission to fight this madness with their start-up Opal Analytics, by developing software that allows businesses to use real-time analytics to precisely forecast the day-to-day requirements.

 

Marc, what came first? Was it the plan to pursue your own business and develop innovative software solutions, or the wish to make this world a better place?

Marc Huber: We were studying commercial information technology in Mannheim and looking into finding a good subject for our PhDs. Big Data and the analysis of operational data were fields we were focusing on. It was more by chance that we came to learn that great amounts of food go to waste each day – due to bad requirement planning! When a partner of ours supplied us with several billion datasets coming from the fields in question we knew: this a subject that is not only scientifically relevant, but also useful and meaningful.

When did the research project become the Opal company?

Alexander Gossmann: In March 2014 professor Steffens institute was closed for health reasons. We saw the potential to create a sales-software from our prototype and have been working on the project full time since April 2014. During work on our PhDs we had also been active in consultancy, and surely could have pursued a career in that field, but becoming independent with Opal appealed to us more.

Developing a product is one thing – founding a company on the other hand is quite demanding. Were you counselled regarding risks and benefits?

Marc Huber: Mannheim is a very good and supportive place for founders. While still in university we were counseled well and with help from the business development department we applied for the “EXIST-Gründerstipendium“, which we received without much hassle. We profited from events such as “Business Speed Dating“, which allowed us to build a network in the the world of start-ups.

What is special about the Opal software?

Alexander Gossmann: The way we use various sources of data to develop our prognoses makes us unique. We evaluate every single item in the store individually, and based on every transaction in real time and the automatically gathered contextual information, we will then generate our projections. This makes our system very adaptable, fast and self-learning, as we utilize machine learning techniques. Our software is the result of five years of development.

How can we imagine the system in everyday use? 

Alexander Gossmann: For example: The daily forecast runs are based on weather conditions that are ideal for barbecues, but on the day planned for meat production a thunderstorm warning is issued. Opal will dynamically react to this in real time and reduce the forecast quantities.

_mg_8420
Marc Huber (far right) and Alexander Gossmann from Opal in a customer pitch with Daniel Gürtler, commercial manager and authorized signatory of the bakery label Görtz

 

Where do you see Opal in 2020?

Alexander Gossmann: Our software is applicable in other fields of business – such as the pharmaceutical and chemical industry, or automotive suppliers. Our six-member team is working on the standardization of the software and we will require another round of financing to ensure the necessary growth.

Where does one acquire financing in this phase of business?

Marc Huber: We were lucky to have the Mannheim Beteiligungsfond as our first investor. On the other hand, we want to generate enough turnover to grow independently. This isn’t easy for a tech-start-up and so we gladly take advantage of the networks Mannheim offers founders, with all its organizations and events. At the events, you can meet Business Angels and institutional investors, but many contacts also come from the private sector.

What kind of workflow does Opal favour?

Marc Huber: We were always about learning by doing. We took a look at what we needed to get done and distributed the tasks among our team the way thought it made the most sense. It benefitted us that we come from different backgrounds: before I worked at Opal I was a consultant for SAP, and during my doctorate I worked for the pump manufacturer KSB. At Opal I am responsible for finances, human resources, organization and frontend development. My main focus is ensuring the profitability and applicability of our software solutions.

Alexander Gossmann: I used to work as a BI consultant in different fields. My last gig was during my doctorate at the automotive supplier Freudenberg. As CEO I am responsible for strategic direction and distribution. I focus on real time processing of transactional bulk data and the development of our prognosis algorithms.

Why did you move into the Mafinex startup centre?

Marc Huber: At first we used to work in the university library, as there were no coworking spaces in Mannheim back then. Mafinex offers optimally equipped spaces. Mannheim was always our first choice. The travel distances to our clients from a city such as Berlin just wouldn’t work out. Mannheim is very conveniently located and offers great transportation connections.

_mg_8639

 

How important are relationships with universities?

Alexander Gossmann: We are very glad the university in Mannheim is introducing new educational models for Data Science, as these are much needed. Beginning in the fall of 2017 a degree program for Data Science will be offered – sadly only for 25 students. I would also like to commend the very successful collaboration with professor Stuckenschmidt of the institute for Data Science. We have been working together since 2014 within the framework of a research agreement.

How do you find the right co-workers?

Marc Huber: Our software requires a great amount of research effort and we greatly profit from our relationship with the university, be it through degree theses or interns and student trainees. We are constantly developing young talent.

How do you convince graduates to join Opal?

Alexander Gossmann: We offer a very different perspective to young talent than a large company. Here you can grow together with us and might be head of a whole team within a year. We need people willing to push our ideas to next level with us.

What is the key to retaining ones creativity within a daily routine?

Marc Huber: To me sport is important. I love riding my bike in the Palatinate Forest and am often on the move there with the university exercise group.

Alexander Gossmann: I spend time with my family and we feel so attached to Mannheim that we have decided to build a future here.

 

Interview: Ralf Laubscher / LA.MAG

Pictures: Daniel Lukac

 


www.opal-analytics.com

www.mafinex.de




Recent Posts


MAFINEX

covexo

In the Mannheim technology center MAFINEX, three friends are revolutionizing the “cloud for developers”. Lukas Gentele, Fabian Kramm and Daniel…

Opal Analytics

Big Data in Echtzeit für den Handel

Jeden Tag wandern in Supermärkten und Bäckereien tausende Tonnen Lebensmittel in den Müll. Marc Huber und Alexander Gossmann kämpfen mit ihrem Startup Opal Analytics erfolgreich gegen diesen Wahnsinn an: intelligente Software liefert dem Handel Echtzeit-Analysen und präzise Prognosen für den täglichen Bedarf.

 

Marc, was war zuerst? Die Idee, mit dem eigenen Unternehmen innovative Software zu entwickeln oder der Wunsch, die Welt ein wenig zu verbessern?

Marc Huber: Wir haben an der Uni Mannheim Wirtschaftsinformatik studiert – mit einem Fokus auf Big Data und die Analyse operationaler Daten. Für die Promotion suchten wir ein interessantes Thema und sind durch Zufall darauf aufmerksam geworden, dass täglich tonnenweise Lebensmittel weggeworfen werden – aufgrund schlechter Bedarfsplanung! Als uns ein Partner aus dem Handel ein paar Milliarden Datensätze zur Verfügung gestellt hat, wussten wir: das ist nicht nur ein wissenschaftlich spannendes, sondern auch ein sinnvolles praktisches Thema.

Wie wurde aus dem Forschungsprojekt das Unternehmen Opal?

Alexander Gossmann: Im März 2014 wurde das Institut von Professor Steffens aus gesundheitlichen Gründen geschlossen und wir haben das Potenzial gesehen, aus unserem Prototypen eine Vertriebs-Software zu entwickeln, an der wir seit April 2014  in Vollzeit arbeiten. Da wir schon während der Promotion als Berater tätig waren, hätten wir sicher eine Beraterkarriere verfolgen können, aber die Selbstständigkeit fanden wir spannender.

Ein gutes Produkt zu entwickeln ist eine Sache – das Gründen einer Firma eine ganz andere. Wurdet Ihr gut beraten?

Marc Huber: In Mannheim wird man als Gründer von allen Seiten unterstützt. Schon an der Universität wurden wir gut beraten und haben mit Hilfe der Mannheimer Wirtschaftsförderung ein Exist-Gründerstipendium beantragt, das auch schnell bewilligt worden ist. Wichtig waren für uns Events wie Speed Dating-Pitches, die es uns ermöglicht haben, ein Netzwerk in der Gründerszene aufzubauen.

Was macht die Opal-Software besonders?

Alexander Gossmann: Uns macht das Verfahren einzigartig, wie wir unterschiedlichste Datenquellen für unsere Prognosen nutzen: wir betrachten jeden Artikel in jeder Filiale individuell und können auf Basis jeder einzelnen Transaktion in Echtzeit und den automatisch ermittelten Kontextinformationen Prognosen erstellen. Das System ist damit sehr flexibel, schnell und selbstlernend durch die verwendeten Maschinenlernverfahren. In der Software stecken fünf Jahre Entwicklungsarbeit.

Wie funktioniert die Anwendung in der Praxis?

Alexander Gossmann: Angenommen, bei den täglichen Prognosenläufen eines Supermarktes wurde schönes Grillwetter prognostiziert, aber am geplanten Tag der Fleischproduktion gibt es eine Gewitterwarnung. Opal reagiert darauf in Echtzeit und reduziert die Prognosemengen dynamisch.

_mg_8420
Marc Huber (ganz rechts) und Alexander Gossmann von Opal im Kundengespräch mit Daniel Gürtler, kaufmännischer Leiter und Prokurist der Bäckereikette Görtz.

 

Wo seht Ihr Opal im Jahr 2017?

Alexander Gossmann: Unsere Software ist auch auf andere Branchen übertragbar – etwa auf die Pharma- und Chemieindustrie oder auf Automobilzulieferer. Mit unserem sechsköpfigen Team arbeiten wir deshalb an der Standardisierung unserer Software. Um stärker wachsen zu können, braucht es nun eine neue Finanzierungrunde.

Wie kommt man in dieser Phase an Geld?

Marc Huber: Unser Fokus war von Anfang an, so viel Umsatz zu machen, um aus uns selbst heraus wachsen zu können. Als Tech-Startup ist das nicht einfach, deshalb war es hilfreich, dass der Beteiligungsfond Mannheim als erster Investor eingestiegen ist. Darüber hinaus nutzen wir die gute Mannheimer Gründer-Infrastruktur mit ihren Verbänden und Veranstaltungen. Bei Events trifft man Business-Angels und institutionelle Investoren, aber oft ergeben sich Kontakte auch aus privaten Netzwerken.

Wie ist bei Opal der interne Workflow organisiert?

Marc Huber: Unser Ding war immer Learning by Doing. Wir haben uns die Aufgaben angeschaut und dann untereinander sinnvoll aufgeteilt. Uns kam zu Gute, dass wir unterschiedliche Backgrounds haben: ich war zuerst Berater bei der SAP und während der Promotion beim Pumpenhersteller KSB – bei Opal bin ich für den Bereich Finanzen, Personal, Organisation und die Frontend-Entwicklung verantwortlich. Vor allem die Sicherstellung der Wirtschaftlichkeit und Anwendbarkeit unserer Lösungen sind mein Fokus.

Alexander Gossmann: Ich war früher BI-Berater in unterschiedlichsten Branchen, zuletzt während meiner Promotion beim Automobilzulieferer Freudenberg. Als Geschäftsführer bin ich für die strategische Ausrichtung und den Vertrieb verantwortlich. Mein Fokus ist die Datenverarbeitung von transaktionalen Massendaten in Echtzeit, sowie die Weiterentwicklung der Prognosealgorithmen.

Warum seid Ihr in das Gründungszentrum Mafinex gezogen? 

Marc Huber: Zuerst haben wir die Bibliotheksräume der Universität genutzt, denn damals gab es noch keine Coworking-Spaces in Mannheim. Heute haben wir perfekt ausgestattete Räume im Gründungszentrum Mafinex. Für uns kam auch nie eine andere Stadt als Mannheim in Frage – denn beispielweise von Berlin aus wären die Wege zu unseren Kunden einfach zu weit. Mannheim liegt verkehrstechnisch extrem günstig.

_mg_8639

 

Wie wichtig ist die Verbindung zu Hochschulen?

Alexander Gossmann: Wir finden es sehr gut, dass die Uni Mannheim neue Modelle aufbaut, um die am Markt dringend benötigten Ausbildungsprofile für Data Scientisten anzubieten. Ab Herbst 2017 soll es einen Data Science-Studiengang geben – aber leider begrenzt auf 25 Studierende. Ich möchte aber die sehr erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Stuckenschmidt vom Lehrstuhl für Data Science hervorheben – wir arbeiten seit 2014 im Rahmen eines Forschungsvertrages zusammen.

Wie findet man gutes Personal?

Marc Huber: Unsere Software bedarf eines hohen Forschungsaufwands. Wir profitieren sehr von der Kooperation mit der Universität: durch Abschlussarbeiten, aber auch durch die Arbeit mit Praktikanten und Werksstudenten können wir gezielt unseren Nachwuchs aufbauen.

Wir überzeugt Ihr Absolventen zum Einstieg bei Opal?

Alexander Gossmann: Bei uns haben junge Menschen ganz andere Chancen als bei einem großen Unternehmen. Wir bieten die Möglichkeit, mit uns zu wachsen. Wer bei uns startet, wird eventuell schon in einem Jahr für ein ganzes Team verantwortlich sein. Wir suchen nach Leuten, die unsere Ideen mit uns in die Zukunft tragen.

Und wie erhält man trotz Alltagsstress seine Kreativität?

Marc Huber: Für mich ist es wichtig Sport zu machen. Ich liebe es, im Pfälzer Wald Mountainbike zu fahren – dort bin ich sehr gerne mit der Hochschulsportgruppe unterwegs.

Alexander Gossmann: Ich verbringe gerne Zeit mit der Familie – und in Mannheim fühlen wir uns so wohl, dass wir uns entschlossen haben, mit Opal hier langfristig zu bleiben.

Interview: Ralf Laubscher / LA.MAG

Fotos: Daniel Lukac

 


www.opal-analytics.com

www.mafinex.de




Neueste Beiträge