Klokke

A new level of comfort in the Anti-Café

The idea seems as ambitious as it seems simple: after finishing uni, Caro and Swetlana from Mannheim were keen on rethinking the idea of food service from the ground up, with their startup Klokke. Since 2017 the Anti-Café in Mittelstraße offers a fresh concept that invites „everyone“ to come in and „stay a while, chat, play or work“.

Find your place to sit, check the menu, place your order? Not in here! Everything is different than one might be accustomed to from other cafés. Customers are greeted in person by the female graduates and founders, Caro and Swetlana. „In our café you can help yourself to anything in the kitchen, or even bring along own stuff. You pay for the time you spend here. The first hour is 5 Euros, the second 3 Euros and the third is only 2 Euros.“

Time tracking accurately to the second? Of course not! Klokke stands for deceleration.  A card is stamped by a time clock, just like in the good old times. And then all you have to do is find a cozy place between the play area and the window front. Home baked cake and small dishes, fresh fruit and veggies are waiting, neatly arranged on trays and in bowls. Kinda feels like a shared flat – only difference: the fridge is always stocked!

The large circle of chairs in the back is free at the moment, but shortly the sci-fi round-table will be meeting here. True to the Klokke motto „together is better than alone“, everyday a colorful bunch of people assembles in the café, to exchange ideas and discuss the widest variety of issues. Be it startup meetings with folks from the neighboring startup-center Altes Volksbad, a math or astronomy circle, or even knitting and crocheting events – Klokke has everything to offer, that a modern urban mind from Neckarstadt could ever wish up. The cafés website is always updated to help find out what is going on.

This concept of „gastronomic sharing“ is both innovative and clever. For those looking for chair circles, Sunday TV crime thrillers as a public viewing event, with a nice cup of tea, will discover the ideal co-chill-out space here at Klokke – and everyone else can sit back and relax in this new cozy space in the Mannheim Neckarstadt-West.


Mittelstraße 19, 68169 Mannheim,
Monday thru Sunday, 9am till 9pm
www.dieklokke.de

Text: Andreas Stanita  / LA.MAG
Photos: Sebastian Weindel




Recent Posts


CONTACT

Looking for the perfect spot to start your own business? We will be happy to consult you and help you decide if…

Klokke

Die neue Gemütlichkeit im Anti-Café

Die Idee ist so einfach wie anspruchsvoll: nach dem Studium wollten die Mannheimerinnen Caro und Swetlana mit ihrem Startup Klokke Gastronomie ganz neu denken. Seit 2017 betreiben sie in der Mittelstraße nun ihr Anti-Café „für Alle“, das mit einem neuartigen Konzept „zum Verweilen, Plaudern, Spielen oder Arbeiten“ einlädt.

Platz suchen, Karte checken, Bestellung aufgeben? Von wegen! Hier läuft alles anders, als man es aus gewöhnlichen Cafés kennt. Gäste werden von den beiden Uni-Absolventinnen und Gründerinnen Caro und Swetlana persönlich begrüßt. „Bei uns kann man sich in der Küche frei bedienen oder auch gerne selbst was mitbringen. Bezahlt wird nur die Zeit, die man in unserem Open Space verbringt. Die erste Stunde kostet 5 Euro, ab der zweiten Stunde kostet es 3 Euro und ab der vierten nur noch 2 Euro.“

Sekundengenaues Time Tracking? Natürlich nicht, im Klokke ist Entschleunigung angesagt. Hier wird noch an der Stechuhr gestempelt wie in analogen alten Zeiten. Zwischen Spielecke und Fensterfront sucht man sich ein lauschiges Plätzchen. Selbstgebackene Kuchen und kleine Speisen, Obst und Gemüse lächeln einen von Tabletts und Schalen aus an. Fühlt sich ein bisschen an wie in der WG früher – nur, dass der Kühlschrank nie leer ist.

Der große Stuhlkreis im hinteren Teil ist gerade unbesetzt, gleich tagt dort aber der Science-Fiction-Stammtisch. Getreu dem Klokke-Motto „Gemeinsam statt einsam” trifft sich hier täglich ein bunter Haufen Menschen und tauscht sich zu unterschiedlichsten Themen aus. Von Startup-Meetings mit Gründern aus dem benachbarten Startup-Zentrum Altes Volksbad über Mathezirkel und Astrokreisen bis hin zu Strick- und Häkelhappenings kann hier so ziemlich alles passieren, was das offen-urbane Neckarstadtherz bewegt. Und die Klokke-Webseite verrät, was die Gäste an welchem Tag erwartet.

Der Sharing-Gastronomy-Ansatz ist nicht nur innovativ, sondern auch ganz schön clever. Wem der Sinn nach Stuhlkreis, Tatort-Public-Viewing und Beuteltee steht, der findet im Klokke den idealen Co-Faulenzing-Space – und alle anderen einfach einen neuen Lieblingsort in der Mannheimer Neckarstadt-West.


Mittelstraße 19, 68169 Mannheim,
Mo bis So, 9 bis 21 Uhr
www.dieklokke.de

Text: Andreas Stanita  / LA.MAG

Fotos: Sebastian Weindel




Neueste Beiträge