GALLION

From startup to major player – Films from the heart of the city

In 2017,  after a production period of almost two years, the Mannheim Film Production Company Gallion is going to release its latest work, a documentary of the history of the „Benjamin Franklin Village“. This brownfield site used to be one of the largest US army residential areas in Germany and is now a large urban planning project bound to be shaping the future of living and working in Mannheim. In this interview Gallion’s Donni Schoenemond and Philipp Kohl talk about their experiences in this “No-Man’s-Land“ and how it feels to be a start-up in Germany.

 

When did you start Gallion and why?

Donni: I majored in music and have always been interested in film. That’s why I started out as a freelance video producer eight years ago. In 2013, I and Joko (Johannes Kaltofen, that is) started Gallion and in 2014 Phillip joined us. What might be an interesting fact is that none of us ever went to film school and I think that makes our story and our aesthetic style so unique.

gallion_0118
Die Mannheimer Filmproduzenten Gallion: Donni Schoenemond und Philipp Kohl (rechts)

 

What’s the story of the name Gallion?

Donni: Gallion is a made-up name. And it’s Ok by us that it might evoke various associations with sea-faring terms such as galleys or figureheads (in German Gallionsfiguren); after all, we are at a harbor here!

What did you do before you started Gallion?

Philipp: I majored in ethnology and political science in Heidelberg and at the end of my studies started the film project “Transnational Team“. The project became somewhat pretty famous and enjoyed a lot of media exposure. I was awarded the “Medal of Integration for “Transnational Team“. After that I focused on finishing college but realized pretty soon that the film bug had bitten me real hard (laughs). After graduating I worked as a science assistant to a member of the state legislature. And there I learned a lot. Eventually I met Donni and then joined Gallion. Since ethnology usually involves working with film material, typically as a data source, the connection to film is obvious.

Donni: I came to Mannheim in 2004 and started the band MY BABY WANTS TO EAT YOUR PUSSY. Those were the early days of U-tube and as a band we were pretty excited about the chance of putting our videos out there. The whole thing got off the ground pretty big and fast so that we soon began to produce our own music videos and those of other bands. In the process, I developed a passion for film, in particular for editing and conceptualizing.

Which services do you offer and how do you acquire clients?

Philipp: We offer the entire range of the film making process.  Most often and most preferably we realize films about music and cultural activities or documentaries of any style and format. We never really did a lot of advertising; most of our clients come to us through word-of-mouth.

gallion_0092
David Lynch probably would have liked the Mannheimer Benjamin Franklin Village as well – the shooting venue of the movie “Niemandsland”.

 

Your clients come from all industries. Are you open in that respect or do you want to specialize in the long run?

Donni: We have a passion for documentaries. And in the long run that is going to be our focus. It requires a very specific technique that we find exciting and unique. Where else are you given the opportunity to get a glimpse at so many different cultures and realities?

Philipp:  Here I can make the connection to the way ethnologists work. We, above all, want our films’ protagonists to feel portrayed truthfully.  For me it’s very intriguing to accompany people from such different walks of life in their daily routines.

How long does it take you to produce a finished video and what are the individual steps in the process?

Donni: That depends on the film. We have been working on “No-Man’s-Land”, the movie we are shooting at the former Benjamin-Franklin-Village, for one and a half years now. Post-production and evaluation follows next and often takes another 6 months. But I have to say that we would consider this a long-term project.

Philipp: Shorter projects can be completed two days after the shoot. “No-Man’s-Land” is time-consuming and that’s because here we produce an 80-minute film that is a also a long-time study. It is simply such a different format compared to most of the other films we produce for the internet.

 

 

Which project has been the most exciting one for you so far?

Donni und Philipp: “No-Man’s-Land“!

Philipp: The project is multi-faceted and that makes it very exciting. “No-Man’s-Land“ is mostly about urban planning and that comes with many angles and thus offers a multitudes of ways to look at the situation. We not only observe urban planning and architecture but also the social and cultural aspects of it. Plus, we compose and produce the film score as well.

What is your BFV project all about?

Philipp: We show the development of the largest brownfield site in Mannheim between the Americans’ pulling out and the beginning of the re-developing activities; that is, in a stage where conceptualizing, vision and demolition work were the daily business.  Beyond that, we also tell you who is moving onto site. As a matter of fact, in the film we feature people and their ideas for this redevelopment project

Donni: We show how life returned to this ghost town, so it is a very lively project. When we got started the Americans had been gone for a couple of years and everything was abandoned and had gone to seed. Last October thousands of refugees arrived and have already gone again. This is like a stage set where various actors enter and start their show.

What are your expectations with “No-Man’s-Land“? What could this film change not only for you but also for the city?

Donni: No-Man’s-Land offers the opportunity to put ourselves on the map as a label specializing in documentaries. Plus, a film production with a theatrical release is an important reference. It shows that we are more than capable of successfully pulling off projects of such magnitude.

In this documentary we capture the history and the zeitgeist of this city. We expect No-Man’s-Land to be a film that will be as relevant in thirty years as it is today.

What’s your relationship with Mannheim?

Philipp: I was born and raised in Mannheim and have always been a fan of this city. For me Mannheim is hometown, movie location and research object all rolled into one!

Donni: I’ve been in Mannheim for 12 years now and feel very much at home here. Mannheim is a city that returns in abundance whatever passion you are willing to invest in it. With a city of that size you cannot complain if nothing is happening, you have to get involved and get things moving on your own.

 

 

Philipp, you worked on the “Transnational Team“ project that was so much connected to the city of Mannheim. Did that strengthen your ties with Mannheim?

Philipp: No doubt about it. The film gave me the chance of getting re-acquainted with Jungbusch. Thanks to my approaching so many people with an open mind, a new quality in my relationship with this neighborhood developed. It also helped me to introduce Mannheim, and in particular the multi-cultural side of Mannheim, to a wider audience outside of Mannheim.

 

gallion_0119

 

Do you feel alright here at C-Hub? What strikes you as especially unique about this start-up center in Jungbusch?

Donni: C-Hub is simply a very good place. It works on a professional and a social level. We have met some very interesting people and made promising contacts. Work rarely feels like work, actually (laughs)!

Is Mannheim a good city for startups?

Philipp: Definitely, by now Mannheim has earned a solid reputation in that respect. The city’s support in its many forms helps in the right and important places, creates incentives and has developed a positive image. The business potential of this region also adds to the fact that young companies find perfect conditions here so they – as the saying goes – can land safely on their feet.

Some good advice for startups you may have to offer?

Donni und Philipp: Having fun at work often helps you to face the risks and overcome the uncertainty that comes with the territory.

 

Interview: Mawayoflife
Pictures: Sebastian Weindel

www.gallion-film.com




Recent Posts


MAFINEX

covexo

In the Mannheim technology center MAFINEX, three friends are revolutionizing the “cloud for developers”. Lukas Gentele, Fabian Kramm and Daniel…

GALLION

Vom Startup zur festen Größe – Filme aus der Tiefe der Stadt

Nach fast zwei Jahren Produktionszeit kommt 2017 „Niemandsland“ in die Kinos – das neueste Werk der Mannheimer Filmproduzenten Gallion. Der Kino-Film dokumentiert die Entwicklung des „Benjamin Franklin Village“. Lange war die riesige Konversionsfläche die größte Wohnsiedlung der US-Armee in Deutschland – nun soll das stadtplanerische Großprojekt die Zukunft des Wohnens, Lebens und Arbeitens in Mannheim neu definieren. Im Interview berichten Donni Schoenemond und Philipp Kohl von Gallion über ihre Erlebnisse im „Niemandsland“ – und als Startup in Mannheim.

 

Wann habt Ihr Gallion gegründet und wie kam es dazu?

Donni: Ich habe Musik studiert und mich schon immer für Film interessiert. Darum habe ich vor acht Jahren angefangen als Freelancer Videos zu produzieren. 2013 habe ich zusammen mit Joko (Johannes Kaltofen, Anm. d. Red.) Gallion gegründet, 2014 kam dann Philipp dazu. Interessant ist, dass wir alle Quereinsteiger sind, niemand von uns war an einer Filmhochschule. Das macht unsere Geschichte und ich denke auch unseren Stil speziell.

gallion_0118
Die Mannheimer Filmproduzenten Gallion: Donni Schoenemond und Philipp Kohl (rechts)

 

Was hat es mit dem Namen Gallion auf sich?

Donni: Gallion ist ein Fantasiename. Die Bedeutungsverwandtschaft mit dem Thema Seefahrt, der Galionsfigur, der Galeere etc. ist aber durchaus gewünscht. Schließlich sitzen wir mit dem Büro im C-HUB ja auch im Mannheimer Hafen.

Was habt Ihr vorher gemacht?

Philipp: Ich habe Ethnologie und Politikwissenschaft in Heidelberg studiert und am Ende meines Studiums ein Filmprojekt namens „Transnationalmannschaft“ begonnen. Das Projekt wurde sehr bekannt und hat viel mediale Aufmerksamkeit erhalten. Für „Transnationalmannschaft“ habe ich die Integrationsmedaille der Bundesregierung bekommen. Danach habe ich dann erstmal mein Studium abgeschlossen, habe aber schnell gemerkt, dass ich aus der Filmnummer nicht mehr rauskomme (lacht). Nach meinem Studium habe ich ein Jahr lang für eine Landtagsabgeordnete als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter gearbeitet. Da durfte ich sehr viel lernen. Schließlich habe ich Donni kennengelernt und bin so dann zu Gallion gekommen. Da man in der Ethnologie auch oft mit Film arbeitet, meist als Datenquelle, generiert sich mein Bezug zu Film hierüber.

Donni: Ich bin 2004 nach Mannheim gekommen und habe die Band My Baby wants to eat your Pussy gegründet. Das waren die Anfänge von YouTube damals und wir fanden es als Band extrem spannend, dort Videos veröffentlichen zu können. Das Ganze hat schnell große Ausmaße angenommen, sodass wir unsere eigenen Musikvideos und Musikvideos für andere Bands produziert haben. So habe ich meine Leidenschaft für Film entdeckt, insbesondere fürs Schneiden, Editieren und Konzipieren.

Welche Dienstleistungen bietet Ihr an und wie kommt Ihr an Eure Kunden heran?

Philipp: Wir bieten die gesamte Palette der Filmschöpfungskette an. Am häufigsten und liebsten realisieren wir Filme, die mit Musik und Kultur in Verbindung stehen oder dokumentarische Arbeiten jeglichen Formats. Marketing haben wir noch nie wirklich betrieben, 95 Prozent unserer Kunden kommen bei uns von Mund-zu-Mund-Propaganda.

gallion_0092
Hätte vermutlich auch David Lynch gefallen: das Mannheimer Benjamin Franklin Village – Schauplatz des Kino-Films „Niemandsland“.

 

Ihr habt Kunden aus vielen verschiedenen Branchen, wollt Ihr dauerhaft einen Schwerpunkt festlegen oder seid Ihr offen für alles?

Donni: Unsere Leidenschaft ist der Dokumentarfilm. Dort wollen wir auch langfristig unseren Schwerpunkt setzen. Das ist eine ganz besondere Arbeitsweise, die wir sehr spannend und einmalig finden. Wo sonst hat man die Möglichkeit, Einblicke in so viele verschiedene Kulturen und Lebenswelten zu erhalten?

Philipp: Auch hier kann ich wieder einen Bezug zur Arbeitsweise der Ethnologie herstellen. Wir möchten unsere Protagonisten so darstellen, dass vor allem sie sich gut repräsentiert fühlen. Ich finde es spannend, unterschiedlichste Menschen in ihrem Alltag zu begleiten.

Wie lange dauert es für Euch, ein fertiges Video zu produzieren und wie sehen die einzelnen Schritte aus?

Donni: Das kommt auf den Film an. Für „Niemandsland“, den Film, den wir gerade auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Benjamin-Franklin-Village drehen, sind wir nun schon einundhalb Jahre unterwegs. Daran schließt sich noch die Postproduktion und die Auswertung an, die wird sicherlich auch nochmal ein halbes Jahr dauern. Das ist allerdings auch ein längeres Projekt.

Philipp: Kürzere Projekte können theoretisch schon zwei Tage nach Dreh fertig sein. „Niemandsland“ dauert so lange, weil wir hier einen 80-Minuten-Film mit Langzeitbetrachtung produzieren. Das ist einfach ein ganz anderes Format, ein ganz anderes Werk als die meisten Filme, die wir fürs Internet produzieren.

 

 

Welches waren bisher Eure spannendsten Projekte?

Donni und Philipp: „Niemandsland“!

Philipp: Das Projekt ist einfach sehr vielseitig und daher besonders spannend. In erster Linie hat „Niemandsland“ mit Stadtentwicklung zu tun und das ist sehr vielschichtig, weil es hier nur so von Schnittstellen wimmelt. Wir beobachten nicht nur Stadtplanung und Architektur, sondern auch und vor allem soziale und kulturelle Aspekte. Außerdem produzieren und schreiben wir die Musik zum Film, zusammen mit vielen Mannheimer Musikern, selbst.

Welche Inhalte erzählt der Film?

Philipp: Wir zeigen die Entwicklung der größten Konversionsfläche Mannheims zwischen dem Verlassen der Amerikaner und dem Beginn des Neuaufbaus, also in einer Phase, in der Konzeption, Vision und Abriss noch den Alltag bestimmen. Außerdem zeigen wir, wer hier alles auf die Fläche kommt. Im Prinzip portraitieren wir Menschen und deren Ideen in Bezug zu dieser Konversionsfläche.

Donni: Wir zeigen, wie das Leben zurück in die Geisterstadt kommt, das ist also ein sehr lebendiges Projekt. Als wir hier angefangen haben, waren die Amerikaner ein paar Jahre fort und alles war verwildert und verlassen. Im letzten Oktober kamen dann plötzlich Tausende Flüchtlinge hierher und die sind nun auch schon wieder weg. Das ist hier wie eine Kulisse, auf die verschiedene Akteure treten und ihr Spiel spielen.

Welche Erwartungen verbindet Ihr mit „Niemandsland? Was kann der Film für Euch, aber auch für die Stadt verändern?

Donni: „Niemandsland“ gibt uns die Möglichkeit, unser Profil als ein Label zu schärfen, das sich auf dokumentarisches Arbeiten fokussiert. Eine Kino-Produktion ist für uns zudem eine wichtige Referenz. Sie zeigt, dass wir in der Lage sind, Projekte einer solchen Größenordnung zu realisieren.

Es wird hier ein Stück Zeit- und Stadtgeschichte dokumentiert. Wir erwarten uns von daher, dass das Werk in 30 Jahren nicht weniger interessant ist als heute ist.

Welchen Bezug habt Ihr zu Mannheim?

Philipp: Ich bin Mannheimer und war auch immer Fan von Mannheim. Die Stadt ist für mich sowohl Heimat, Filmset als auch Forschungsgebiet.

Donni: Ich bin jetzt seit 12 Jahren Mannheimer und fühle mich hier sehr zuhause. Mannheim ist ein Ort, der Dir viel zurückgibt, wenn Du dich einbringst. Bei einer Stadt dieser Größenordnung darf man sich nicht beschweren wenn nichts abgeht – man muss selbst gestalten.

 

Philipp, hast Du durch Dein Filmprojekt „Transnationalmannschaft“ einen noch stärkeren Bezug zu Mannheim entwickelt?

Philipp: Auf jeden Fall. Ich habe durch den Film den Jungbusch noch mal neu kennengelernt. Dadurch, dass ich auf so viele Menschen aktiv zugegangen bin, bekam meine Verbindung zum Stadtteil eine neue Qualität. Außerdem konnte ich damals mit dem Film Mannheim, vor allem das multikulturelle Mannheim, auch außerhalb der Stadt bekannt machen.

 

gallion_0119

 

Fühlt Ihr Euch wohl im C-Hub? Was findet Ihr besonders an diesem Startup-Zentrum im Jungbusch?

Donni: Das C-Hub ist ein sehr guter Ort. Es funktioniert sowohl auf zwischenmenschlicher als auch auf beruflicher Ebene. Wir haben hier schon sehr viele spannende Kontakte geknüpft. Arbeiten fühlt sich hier selten wie Arbeiten an (lacht)!

Ist Mannheim also eine gute Stadt für Startups?

Philipp: Klar, dafür ist Mannheim mittlerweile ja auch ein Stück weit bekannt. Die vielfältig unterstützenden Maßnahmen der Stadt auf diesem Feld setzen sowohl an richtigen wie wichtigen Stellen an, sie schaffen Anreize und bilden Profil. Auch die Wirtschaftskraft der Region trägt dazu bei, dass junge Unternehmen hier beste Vorraussetzungen haben, um sprichwörtlich auf die Füße zu fallen.

Euer bester Rat für Gründer?

Donni und Philipp: Spaß an und bei der Arbeit tröstet über Erwartungsunsicherheiten und Risiko oft hinweg.

 

Interview: Mawayoflife
Fotos: Sebastian Weindel

www.gallion-film.com


Gallion waren neulich bei TALK TO, dem neuen Talkformat der Creative Commission zu Gast – das Video gibt‘s hier:




Neueste Beiträge