Dankbar Café

Relax while doing something good

Caught between making it barely on time for your job and a deadline breathing down your neck, being grateful is severely short-changed these days. With their Dankbar (the Gratitude Bar) Verena and Max Freudenberg have created something very idealistic and never seen before in Mannheim

We often lose sight of the reality that in this neck of the woods we are so much better off than most other people on this planet. But now, finally, we have a place to go if we simply feel it is time to be grateful: the Dankbar, the Gratitude Bar. The name says it all! But it is so much more: a bar, a café, a snack bar and a venue for cultural events of any kind

The Dankbar is tucked away in a very picturesque backyard of the Startup Center GIG7 in close proximity to the happening Jungbusch by the harbor. Whoever turns a corner to walk into the Dankbar leaves behind stress, pressure and the humdrum of city life. Get a load off your feet and drop into one of the comfy sofas and chairs under colorful awnings set up in one corner of the yard.

Inside you’re a greeted by a very relaxed and laid-back atmosphere. There is a little bar to sit at and opposite it some easy chairs next to a little stage perfect for poetry slammers or even a rock band.

 

01_dankbar_0004

 

What exactly makes the Dankbar so idealistic? Very simple: It works on the pay-what-you-need idea. Patrons themselves decide how much they are willing to pay for their drinks, food or for the performing artists. The menu carries drinks, small snacks and other dishes and changes daily. Everything from tomato-mozzarella salads to pumpkin soup with salmon to citrus cake is fresh and delicious.

 

01_dankbar_0021

 

There is a big jar in front of the bar where the guests can put their donations. At the end of the month, the money is split into equal parts and goes to three social projects. Max and Verena keep only what’s necessary to cover overhead and their living expenses. The social projects change every month so that many projects have the chance of being supported. So, going to the Dankbar means doing some good for others!

Max and Verena are big supporters of the local cultural scene and give artists the opportunity to perform in front of a Mannheim audience. Events of the Start-up Center supplement the Dankbar’s stage and exhibition program.

 

01_dankbar_0031

 

In the meantime this brand-new and courageous Dankbar concept has become the talk of the town and more and more people agree with the Dankbar founders in how important it is not only to take – but also to give.

Text: Johanna Wobbe / Mawayoflife
Pictures: Sebastian Weindel

Dankbar
G7, 22
68159 Mannheim
Email: kultur@dankbar-mannheim.de
Tram: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7
Station: Dalbergstraße (2), Marktplatz (1, 3, 4, 5, 7)
Opening hours: Mo.-We..: 4.00-9.00 p.m. and Thu.-Sa.: 4.00-12.00 p.m.

 

 




Recent Posts

Dankbar Café

Entspannen und Gutes tun

Dankbar sein – in unserem hektischen Alltag kommt das zwischen Zu-spät-zur-Arbeit-hetzen und Heute-war-die-Deadline meist viel zu kurz. Verena und Max Freudenberg haben mit der Dankbar etwas sehr Idealistisches geschaffen, das es in dieser Form in Mannheim noch nicht gab.

Oft verlieren wir aus dem Auge, dass es uns auf unserem Fleckchen Erde besser geht als den meisten anderen Menschen auf diesem Planeten. Aber nun gibt es einen Ort, an dem wir dazu eingeladen sind, einfach mal dankbar zu sein: die Dankbar. Der Name ist Programm, gleichzeitig ist die Dankbar jedoch viel mehr. Sie ist eine Bar, ein Café, ein Imbiss und ein Ort für kulturelle Veranstaltungen aller Art.

Die Dankbar liegt etwas versteckt im schönen Hinterhof des Gründerinnenzentrums GIG7 – ganz nah am bunten Treiben des Hafenviertels Jungbusch. Wer in die Dankbar abbiegt, lässt Stress, Lärm und Hektik hinter sich. Im Hof wartet eine gemütliche Sitzecke mit Loungemöbeln, überdacht von bunten Sonnensegeln.

In der Dankbar: eine lockere und gelassene Atmosphäre. Auf der einen Seite eine kleine Bar, auf der anderen Seite Sitzgruppen und auf einer Art Bühne, auf der Künstler vom Poetry Slammer bis zur Rockband auftreten, liegen Kissen.

 

01_dankbar_0004

 

Was genau ist nun so idealistisch an der Dankbar? Eigentlich ganz einfach: die Dankbar funktioniert nach dem Pay-what-you-want-Prinzip. Jeder Besucher kann selbst entscheiden kann, was er für sein Getränk, seine Speisen oder für den Auftritt von Künstlern zahlen möchte. Im Angebot sind neben Drinks kleine Snacks und Speisen, die täglich wechseln. Alles frisch und lecker – vom Tomaten-Mozzarella Salat über eine Kürbissuppe mit Lachsstreifen bis zum Zitronenkuchen.

 

01_dankbar_0021

 

Vor der Bar gibt es ein großes Gefäß, in das die Besucher ihre Spende einwerfen können. Das Geld wird am Ende eines Monats gleichmäßig auf drei soziale Projekte aufgeteilt. Max und Verena behalten nur einen Betrag, um die Fixkosten zu decken und das, was sie selbst zum Leben brauchen. Die sozialen Projekte wechseln jeden Monat, so dass viele Projekte eine Chance haben, unterstützt zu werden. Wer die Dankbar besucht, tut also Gutes für andere.

Max und Verena sind große Kulturfans und geben Künstlern die Möglichkeit, sich hier dem Mannheimer Publikum zu präsentieren. Erweitert wird das Bühnen- und Ausstellungsprogramm von Events des Gründerinnenzentrums.

 

01_dankbar_0031

 

Das neuartige und mutige Prinzip der Dankbar hat sich inzwischen erfolgreich herumgesprochen. Und immer mehr Menschen sind mit den Machern einer Meinung, dass es wichtig ist, nicht nur zu nehmen – sondern auch zu geben.

Text: Johanna Wobbe / Mawayoflife
Fotos: Sebastian Weindel

Dankbar
G7, 22
68159 Mannheim
Email: kultur@dankbar-mannheim.de
Straßenbahn: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7
Haltestelle: Dalbergstraße (2), Marktplatz (1, 3, 4, 5, 7)
Öffnungszeiten: Mo.-Mi.: 16.00-21.00 und Do.-Sa.: 16.00-24.00

 

 




Neueste Beiträge