za:media

ETHNIC MARKETING — TO UNDERSTAND THE NEEDS OF MINORITIES

Ethnic marketing? A good idea in a city like Mannheim, which unites people from over 170 nations. What one could see as a little Mesopotamia, between the Rhine and Neckar, is the perfect place for Qamar Zamans and Sherry Kizhukandayils agency za:media to incubate their campaign ideas. We sat down with the two founders, that come from an Indian, as well as Pakistani Background, in their office in Mannheim. 

 

Qamar, what does the „za“ in your agencies name stand for?

Qamar Zaman: Quite simply: those are the the first two letters of my last name. It was also the name of the agency before Sherry got onboard. His firm was called Ambassador Network. Once we started working under one roof we had to make a choice. So we chose the more compact name.

Sherry Kizhukandayil: za:media was a already a limited liability company at the time, so it made the most sense for me to become a co-partner. What’s in a name anyways? The importance lies in the people and ideas behind the project.

 

Sherry Kizhukandayil (left) and Qamar Zaman – the heads behind za:media

 

What were you doing before za:media?

Sherry: Ambassador Network was founded in 2002. The aim was to bring Indian flair to Germany. The first project we initiated was a party in the Karlstorbahnhof, in Heidelberg, called Sounds of Taj Mahal. At the time nobody around here knew anything about cool Indian music, or the sound of Bollywood movies. I was training as a management assistant in events organization at the Enjoy Jazz Festival. When I told the festival manager, Rainer Kern, about my concept, he was really excited about it. The success was overwhelming and the concept was adapted into an event series, called Bombay Boogie Night. We had guest DJs from all around the world. This kind of modern world music event, which reached people far beyond our own community, was something entirely new.

Qamar: My origins are based in Mannheim. In 1995 I moved here from Lower Saxony with my family. I was nine at the time. I started working in graphic design early on and gained experience in the areas of print and online design. Eventually it wasn’t enough and I created BE DESI, a communication portal for Indians and Pakistanis.

 

 

What brought you two together?

Qamar: Sherry promoted his events through my portal, and in return he put my logo on his promotional material. At some point Sherry was on the lookout for office space, and as it happened I had some free space to offer. From then on we worked very closely together. Our first big cooperative project was the INDIA-magazine, which we realized together.

Sherry: Around 2009, Germany was in the middle of a real Bollywood-hype. This led to the idea of creating the INDIA-magazine, as the whole thing felt embarrassing to us. Indian culture was being reduced to dancing, silly costumes and bad lip-sync. It painted a really distorted picture, which we wanted to rectify. We wanted the magazine to get rid of these stereotypes and to show India for what it is: an exciting tourist destination, with a vivid and modern music scene and many culinary highlights. Qamar took care of design and organization, while I was in charge of marketing and writing content. Our motto was: just make it happen! Of course you’re going to hit dead ends … but then you get back on track and keep going, or start something new. Stay hungry! – this has been, and remains, our motto.

What led to the end of the magazine?

Qamar: We had a great six-year run with the magazine. We were able to interview celebrities such as Shah Rukh Khan, and made a lot of great contacts.

Sherry: The trend is clearly toward online media. Print is struggling increasingly. At the same time our business field has changed. Former advertising clients are more and more frequently interested in consulting services regarding ethnic marketing. The cost-benefit ratio was getting out of balance. In addition we were successfully pushing forward in the event business.

 

 

Relaunching Bombay Boogie Nights?

Sherry: Not directly. An event agency in Berlin was interested in doing the first Holi Festival in Germany. They asked us for advice. Holi Festivals are a traditional religious celebrations of Spring in India. In a way one could compare them to the German carnival festivities. We consulted the guys from Berlin on how to adapt the event to the tastes and the needs of the local population in Germany, while keeping things authentic. It should be more than just people throwing color-filled bags at each other. In the end the festival surpassed everyones expectations. The 5000 tickets for the kick-off in Berlin were gone in a week. CNN, BBC and ZDF reported the event. It was bananas! An eclectic audience, a whole lot of Elektro DJs … and right in the middle of it: the Bombay-Boogie-Soundsystem from the Rhine-Neckar district. Following the initial success there were new gigs in Dresden, Hannover and Munich, with over 11.000 guests. It was a breathtaking run, which culminated in us playing for 40.000 people in London.

Qamar: Our distribution of responsibilities was the same as usual, but everything was so much bigger in scale. Sherry was on stage and in charge of marketing, while I took care of booking and running things in the background. Taking care of financing and logistics for 30 gigs a year, over a 4-year period was a giant task.

 

 

And you guys kept pushing the marketing agency at the same time?

Sherry: It was a smooth transition from a focus on music over to marketing, which is the core business of za:media today. The Holi Festival allowed us to reach a new level as India-experts. The Holi Magazine, that we published at the time had a  print run of 200.000. Once things started slowing, and eventually declining, we decided to get out and become an agency focused entirely on ethnic marketing. We didn’t want our idea of India to a become a mere means to an end. One mustn’t ride out every trend till the bitter end.

za:media is meant to function as an intermediary between ethnic groups. What led to this concept? 

Qamar: Based on the example of the Indian community, we learned to understand what defines the needs of minorities in Germany and the EU. We know what these people require in life, what their needs and desires are. We know how to make these minorities feel they are being taken seriously, how to help them and to allay their fears of going under in a foreign culture.

Sherry: We are an agency based in Mannheim, run by two German partners, that both have migrant backgrounds. Our approach deviates from standard marketing strategies. We closely and seriously examine the issues of the communities in question. Africa for example: Last year we created the Afrika Community Award. This event honors projects by the 350 African associations in Germany, chosen by a five-person jury. Another example: the Romanian community. We exactly research which product from their home country the people miss the most. With our food trucks we will travel all over Europe, to bring people a bit of home to their doorsteps. Financial services provider MoneyGram commissioned us to relabel 40.000 units of a Romanian sandwich spread, called Zacuscă, as a give-away.

 

 

Do jobs like this help with integration?

Sherry: It is very important to us to ensure that people with an immigration background can fully integrate here in Germany. For this reason we support a large number of social projects, or try to initiate our own. We consult migrant associations and help them when needed. This is not at all the norm in the agency world. To further boost this charitable work we have founded our own organization, called Culture Communities e.V. Aside from normal integration measures, we want to help migrants with staying connected to their cultures of origin. To make this possible we collaborate with freelancers from a wide variety of fields. Come check out our co-working space, to meet people from all over the world.

 

 

What advantages does Mannheim bring to your operation? 

Qamar: Mannheim is ideally suited, as people from 178 nations live in this city. we can test out ideas on our doorstep, before launching them Europe-wide. Meanwhile we have developed a close cooperation with Claus Preißler, the Commissioner of Integration and Migration in Mannheim.

Sherry: The mix here is just right. za:media sits at the intersection between creative industry, community life and integration projects. We feel it is a privilege to work and live in such a diverse and liberal-minded city. Our work in the fields of migration, integration and ethnic marketing is very well received and supported; be it by cultural workers or the city administration. Just take a look at the great work done by the German-Turkish economic center (DTW), here in the city center. Successful integration efforts create a real sense of achievement for all those involved. Over at za:media university graduates work alongside people that have had a hard time because of where they come from. We encourage our team to test themselves, and we support and value everyone the same. This really works well and is truly stimulating to the entire team. As residents of such a great city one is always a bit proud to represent Mannheim as an ambassador of sorts, when abroad.

 

 

Are Mannheim residents their own kind of ethnicity in a way?

Sherry: I guess you could say that. I really enjoy what the Junge Junge guys are doing over in C-HUB. They are focused on this ethnicity of Mannheim residents, and are very invested in encouraging a return to local culture. Mannheim residents are no minority though, so we don’t see them as a target group for our work. But their concept of producing regionally sourced clothes, with an ethnic message, is something we thoroughly support – hajo!


Interview: Andreas Stanita / LA.MAG

Photos: Sebastian Weindel

www.zamedia.de




Recent Posts

za:media

Ethno-Marketing – die Bedürfnisse von Minoritäten verstehen

Ethno-Marketing? Eine gute Idee in einer Stadt wie Mannheim, in der Menschen aus über 170 Nationen leben. Für Qamar Zaman und Sherry Kizhukandayil ist das Zweistromland zwischen Rhein und Neckar der perfekte Inkubator für die Kampagnen ihrer Marketing-Agentur za:media. Wir haben die beiden Gründer mit pakistanischen und indischen Wurzeln in ihrem Mannheimer Büro getroffen.

 

Qamar, für was steht denn das „za“ in Eurem Agenturnamen?   

Qamar Zaman: Ganz einfach: es sind die Anfangsbuchstaben meines Nachnamens. Und so hieß meine Agentur schon, bevor Sherry und ich ein Team geworden sind. Seine Firma hieß Ambassador Network. Als wir uns zusammengeschlossen haben, mussten wir uns für einen entscheiden. Die Wahl fiel auf den kompakteren.

Sherry Kizhukandayil: za:media war damals schon eine GmbH, da lag es nahe, dass ich Mitgesellschafter werde. Aber Namen sind nur Schall und Rauch. Was zählt sind die Menschen und Ideen, die dahinterstecken.

 

Sherry Kizhukandayil (links) und Qamar Zaman – die Köpfe hinter za:media

 

Was habt ihr vor der Zeit von za:media gemacht?

Sherry: 2002 wurde das Ambassador Network gegründet. Ziel war es, indischen Flair nach Deutschland zu bringen. Das erste Projekt war eine Party im Heidelberger Karlstorbahnhof, sie hieß Sounds of Taj Mahal. Coole indische Musik und den Sound der Bollywood-Filme kannte damals niemand hier. Ich habe damals eine Ausbildung zum Veranstaltungskaufmann beim Enjoy Jazz Festival gemacht und als Festivalleiter Rainer Kern von meiner Idee erzählte, war er Feuer und Flamme. Der Erfolg war überwältigend und unter dem Namen Bombay Boogie Night wurde eine Veranstaltungsreihe daraus. Wir hatten DJs aus der ganzen Welt zu Gast. Eine moderne Weltmusik-Reihe, die auch außerhalb der eigenen Community funktionierte – das war neu.

Qamar: Meine Ursprünge liegen in Mannheim. 1995 bin ich mit meiner Familie aus Niedersachsen hergezogen, da war ich neun Jahre alt. Früh schon habe ich als Grafiker gearbeitet und Erfahrung in den Bereichen Print und Web gesammelt. Irgendwann hat mir das nicht mehr gereicht, und ich habe mit BE DESI mein eigenes Kommunikationsportal für Inder und Pakistaner gestartet.

 

 

Und wie habt ihr zueinander gefunden?

Qamar: Sherry hat seine Veranstaltungen auf meinem Portal promotet und ich durfte im Gegenzug mit meinem Logo auf seine Flyer. Irgendwann war Sherry auf der Suche nach neuen Büroflächen. Wie es der Zufall wollte, war bei mir gerade was frei. Ab da haben wir eng zusammengearbeitet. Unser erstes großes gemeinsames Projekt war das INDIA-Magazin, das wir gemeinsam auf die Beine gestellt haben.

Sherry: Die Idee zum INDIA-Magazin kam uns, weil 2009 in Deutschland ein Bollywood-Hype grassierte, der uns irgendwie peinlich war. Indische Kultur wurde auf Tanz, komische Kostüme und schlechtes Lip-Sync reduziert. Ein krasses Zerrbild, das wir richtigstellen wollten. Wir wollten ein Magazin, das mit den Klischees aufräumt. Indien sollte als das gezeigt werden was es ist: ein aufregendes Reiseland mit lebendiger, moderner Musikszene und vielen kulinarischen Highlights. Qamar hat sich um das Design und die Organisation gekümmert, ich habe das Marketing und die Texte beigesteuert. Unser Motto war: Einfach machen! Klar, manchmal fällt man auch auf die Schnauze, aber dann steht man wieder auf und macht weiter oder startet was Neues. Stay hungry! – das ist auch heute noch unsere Devise.

Warum kam das Aus für Euer Magazin?

Qamar: Wir hatten tolle sechs Jahre mit unserem Magazin, haben indische Berühmtheiten wie den Schauspieler Shah Rukh Khan interviewen dürfen und unzählige wertvolle Kontakte geknüpft.

Sherry: Aber der Trend geht klar zu Onlineformaten. Print hat es immer schwerer. Gleichzeitig hat sich unser Geschäftsfeld gewandelt. Ehemalige Anzeigenkunden wollten immer häufiger im Bereich Ethno-Marketing beraten werden. Irgendwann haben Aufwand und Nutzen sich nicht mehr die Waage gehalten. Außerdem sind wir in der Zeit auch im Eventbereich nochmal voll durchgestartet.

 

 

Ein Relaunch der Bombay Boogie Nights?

Sherry: Nur indirekt. Eine Berliner Eventagentur hatte die Idee in Berlin das erste deutsche Holi Festival zu veranstalten und hat uns um Rat gefragt. Holi Festivals sind traditionell-religiöse Feste, bei denen man in Indien den Frühling feiert. Ein bisschen sind sie mit der deutschen Fastnacht vergleichbar. Wir haben die Berliner dann beraten, wie man das Event auf die hiesigen Bedürfnisse anpassen kann und trotzdem authentisch bleibt. Es sollte mehr passieren als nur eine große Farbbeutelschlacht. Das Festival hat dann alle Erwartungen übertroffen. Binnen einer Woche waren 5000 Tickets für das Kick-off-Festival in Berlin verkauft. CNN, BBC und ZDF haben berichtet, es war total crazy. Ein bunt gemischtes Publikum, jede Menge Elektro DJs und mittendrin das Bombay-Boogie-Soundsystem aus dem Rhein-Neckar-Kreis. Nach dem Premierenerfolg gab es neue Termine in Dresden, Hannover und München mit über 11.000 Gästen. Ein atemberaubender Höhenflug, der darin gipfelte, dass wir in London vor 40.000 Menschen aufgetreten sind.

Qamar: Die Aufgabenverteilung war wie früher, nur eben viele Nummern größer. Sherry stand auf der Bühne und hat sich ums Marketing gekümmert, ich habe mich um das Booking gemacht und im Hintergrund die Strippen gezogen. Logistik und Finanzen bei mehr als 30 Auftritten pro Jahr, europaweit und das über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren – es war eine Mammutaufgabe.

 

 

Und die Marketingagentur habt ihr parallel vorangetrieben?

Sherry: Es war ein fließender Übergang vom musikalischen Schwerpunkt hin zum Marketing, dem Kerngeschäft von za:media heute. Durch das Holi Festival haben wir als Indien-Fachleute ein neues Level erreicht. Allein das Holi Magazin, das wir in der Zeit herausgebracht haben, hatte eine Auflage von über 200.000 Exemplaren. Als der Zulauf begann zu stagnieren und schließlich rückläufig wurde, haben wir den Absprung gewagt – hin zur reinen Ethno-Marketing-Agentur. Wir wollten nicht, dass unser Thema Indien zum Mittel zum Zweck verkommt. Man muss Trends nicht totreiten bis nichts mehr geht.

za:media versteht sich auch als Vermittler zwischen Ethnien – wie kam es dazu?

Qamar: Wir haben am Beispiel der indischen Community gelernt, was die Bedürfnisse von Minoritäten in Deutschland und Europa ausmacht. Wir verstehen was diese Menschen brauchen, was ihre Wünsche und Bedürfnisse sind. Wir wissen wie man dafür sorgt, dass Minoritäten sich ernst genommen fühlen, wie man ihnen hilft und ihnen die Angst nimmt in der Fremde unterzugehen.

Sherry: Wir sind eine Mannheimer Agentur mit zwei deutschen Geschäftsführern, die selbst Migrationsbackground haben. Mit unserem Ansatz distanzieren wir uns von klassischen Plakat- und Flyerkampagnen. Wir befassen uns intensiv mit den jeweiligen Ziel-Communitys. Beispiel Afrika: Wir haben letztes Jahr den Afrika Community Award ins Leben gerufen. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung prämiert eine fünfköpfige Jury die besten Projekte der rund 350 afrikanischen Vereine in Deutschland. Ein anderes Beispiel ist die rumänische Community: Wir recherchieren exakt, welche Produkte die Menschen außerhalb ihrer Heimat besonders vermissen. Wir fahren mit unseren Foodtrucks durch halb Europa und bringen den Menschen ein Stück Heimat bis vor ihre Haustür. Von dem rumänischen Brotaufstrich Zacuscă haben wir im Auftrag des Finanzdienstleisters MoneyGram rund 40.000 Gläser umgelabelt und verschenkt.

 

 

Helfen solche Aktionen bei der Integration?

Sherry: Uns ist es sehr wichtig, dass Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund sich hier voll integrieren. Deshalb supporten wir eine Vielzahl sozialer Projekte oder stoßen eigene an. Wir beraten Migrantenvereine und greifen ihnen auch mal hilfreich unter die Arme. Das geht weit über das in der Agenturwelt übliche Maß hinaus. Um verstärkt gemeinnützig tätig zu sein, haben wir sogar einen eigenen Verein gegründet, den Culture Communities e.V. Neben Integrationsmaßnahmen wollen wir Migranten aber auch dabei helfen, ihre Ursprungskultur weiterhin ausleben zu können. Um das zu ermöglichen arbeiten wir mit Freelancern unterschiedlichster Herkunft zusammen. Schau dich mal in unserem Co-Working-Space um. Da arbeiten junge Leute aus der ganzen Welt.

 

 

Welche Vorteile seht ihr im Standort Mannheim?

Qamar: Mannheim bringt ideale Voraussetzungen mit sich, denn hier leben Menschen aus 178 Nationen. Wir können Projekte vor der eigenen Haustüre testen, bevor wir damit europaweit an den Start gehen. Wir arbeiten mittlerweile eng mit Claus Preißler zusammen, dem Beauftragten für Integration und Migration der Stadt Mannheim.

Sherry: Die Mischung ist perfekt. Mit za:media bedienen wir eine Schnittstelle zwischen Kreativwirtschaft, Vereinsleben und Integrationsprojekten. Wir haben das Privileg in einer sehr diversen und weltoffenen Stadt zu leben und zu arbeiten. Bei Themen wie Migration, Integration und auch Ethnomarketing erfahren wir viel Unterstützung, sowohl von Seiten der Kulturschaffenden als auch von Seiten der Stadtverwaltung. Man denke nur an die tolle Arbeit des Deutsch-Türkischen Wirtschaftszentrums (DTW) hier in der Innenstadt. Gelungene Integrationsarbeit erzeugt ein wundervolles Erfolgserlebnis. Bei za:media arbeiten Uniabsolventen neben Menschen, die es auf dem Arbeitsmarkt herkunftsbedingt schwer haben. Jeder darf sich ausprobieren und wird gleichermaßen gefördert und wertgeschätzt. Das funktioniert super und ist absolut befruchtend für alle Seiten. Wer in so einer tollen Stadt lebt und arbeitet ist auf Auslandsreisen immer auch stolz darauf, ein Stück weit Botschafter Mannheims zu sein.

 

 

Fühlen sich „Monnemer“ als eine eigene Ethnie?

Sherry: Gewissermaßen schon. Spannend finde ich das Modelabel Junge Junge mit Sitz im C-HUB. Die widmen sich der ethnischen Gruppe der „Monnemer“  mit viel Hingabe und durch die Rückbesinnung auf die hiesige Kultur. Die „Monnemer“ sind natürlich keine Minorität und daher für uns auch keine Zielgruppe – aber den Ansatz, vor Ort regionale Textilien mit Ethno-Message zu produzieren, den unterstützen wir voll und ganz – hajo!


Interview: Andreas Stanita / LA.MAG

Fotos: Sebastian Weindel

www.zamedia.de




Neueste Beiträge