VERSIONEYE

Mannheim – San Francisco – Berlin – Mannheim

Robert Reiz has set up shop with his firm VersionEye GmbH in the coworking space bauteil.b in MAFINEX. Anyone developing software today will most likely not be writing all the code himself. A lot is solved using programming modules, so called open source components. The components are free of charge but have licencing restrictions. For large companies, such as SAP, licenses that require a release of the source code are a no-go. Such companies need software to assure that their products are made up of whitelist components. Taking this fact into account Robert Reiz from Mannheim has set up his business model with VersionEye.

 

Good morning Robert! Back from Munich?

Indeed! I spent the day yesterday in WERK 1, the largest start-up center of the city. It used to be a plant for processing potatoes and was converted. One can still tell it used to be a factory – everything is a bit run-down and very industrial. It’s an old concrete building, almost as big as MAFINEX. What I really liked where the big kitchen spaces, with large tables for everyone. A great place to come together and keep in touch.

 

_MG_6240
Founder and software developer Robert Reiz

 

Was it easy reachable? 

Yeah, it’s close to the east station and easily reachable by public transport. On the bottom floor they have a cafeteria just like in the Betahaus in Berlin. That is where you meet up and go forth into the coworking space. Aside from that they have small offices for start-ups and even an incubator for start-ups in the insurance sector. On the other end of the building there is a nightclub – so everything is well taken care of.

So we might be able to learn something from them?

I think so. Mannheim is a great place for founders, but I feel the ecosystem can still be improved. We don’t have any incubators and accelerators here yet for example. At the moment MVV is setting up an incubator for start-ups in the energy sector in Berlin. And I asked myself: why not in Mannheim? Berlin is not THE place in the energy industry.

What do you mean when you say incubator?

One or more firms set up a fond and put it out for tender, aimed at a certain fields such as energy, robotics or biochemistry.  Then start-ups that fit the brief can apply and if they are selected will receive funding for a few months, free workspaces and a mentor for support. Normally these programs run for half a year with 5-10 start-ups. After this „incubation period“ the start-ups will receive follow-up financing or have to keep on independently. An incubator is always topicbased and privately financed.

Why do firms do this?

Large companies tend to have difficulties staying innovative. When people work a field for 30 or more years they become very rooted in firm structures and loose touch with pushing fresh ideas. The focus becomes stuck on the operational business. This is the reason the incubators are set up to get in touch with start-ups. In the best case a start-up will be integrated into the company.

And Mannheim?

Mannheim could have this as well – there are far more large and successful companies here compared to Berlin. The region has the ABB, BASF, Roche, John Deere, SAP and the Software AG! WE also have several universities and technical universities in the region that deliver a lot of brainpower! So why don’t we have any incubators that push innovation in the energy, chemical and software sectors?

 

_MG_6175

 

And how does this work in WERK 1?

Several German insurance agencies set up the “InsurTech” incubator there. Start-ups from all over Germany can apply and can receive funding for six months. They get free workspaces, coaching from experienced experts and some cash. All in all that is worth about 50.000 Euros. The focus is on producing a viable product in the timeframe.

You are a founder yourself. How did things work for you?

I finished uni here in Mannheim in 2005 and spent a year working full-time as a software developer in a small start-up. Then I switched to freelancing as that was more lucrative. In 2008 I founded PLOIN GmbH.

 

_MG_7922-3

 

What does PLOIN stand for?

Nothing really. I made it up. In 2010 I sold the company to Reutax AG, who created a spin off in San Francisco. I went along and had an executive position. I worked in Silicon Valley for a year to build up the company. Though as I didn’t see enough potential in the project later on, I quit and had to leave the US as I had an investor visa that was then negated.

Bummer!

I guess. It was fun and all, but also very expensive. And while a tourist will see the shiny surface, the longer you live there, the more you see the ugly side of things, the many homeless and other problems.

And after that you flew back home?

Yes, back to Mannheim. Which felt a bit small after a year in San Francisco. Though I had met someone from Berlin while I was in the US and visited him there. At first I stayed a week, but I noticed how much start-ups were going on there and decided to stay in Berlin from 2012 to 2014. It was in Berlin that I started operations with VersionEye GmbH.

I met a lot of relevant people in the start-up and VC area and also received my own investment. In the end though I didn’t feel Berlin was the right place for me, as everything there is very „business to customer“. If a start-up gets funding they blow a lot on marketing and PR and aim on making a name for themselves. Many of them initially aren’t looking to make money and are mainly trying to generate a lot of users to catch facebooks eye and be bough up. AKA business plan: hope.

What did you want to do differently?

I went my own way and focused on B2B (Business to Business) without trying to grow too fast. The investors in Berlin were not to keen on that. They were all about „user growth“ and not as much paying customers. Once my first investment had run its course and I couldn’t secure a second round of financing I had enough of it all, the scene – nothing but hot air and a lot of hype. Everyone there is constantly meeting up at start-up events, exchanging info, linking up on Xing and LinkedIn – in the end though all that won’t get you ahead. Back in Mannheim I stopped talking with investors and ignored all inquiries. What I wanted to do was focus on my product, which was much more rewarding than explaining my USP (Unique Selling Proposition) to the business crowd.

 

_MG_7964-5

 

When did it pay off?

When I came back to Mannheim I was really down, almost broke. But I found two angel-investors from my circle of acquaintances that saw the potential in my B2B-product and kept me afloat financially for a few months. The I got my first inquiry from the XING AG in Hamburg. That was my first big enterprise customer. After that a big three-letter Brand from Waldorf approached me and became a client. I didn’t have millions of users but things were up and running. At the moment VersionEye has 42.000 registered users and every month 2.000 new registrations are set up. So now VersionEye has become interesting for investors from Berlin, but they can keep their money, I don’t need it anymore.

And Mannheim is a good fit for you?

I come from here, studied here, my family and friends are here. If I had grown up in Cologne I guess I’d be there now, as I am very attached to home. The Odenwald is great for mountain biking and the wine festivals are about to kick off! One on every weekend. You won’t find that in Berlin or Cologne.

 

_MG_6202

 

Interview: Paul Heesch / bauteil.b

Pictures: Daniel Lukac


www.versioneye.com

Share:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Recent Posts

VERSIONEYE

Mannheim – San Francisco – Berlin – Mannheim

Robert Reiz betreibt im Coworking Space bauteil.b im MAFINEX seine Firma VersionEye GmbH. Wer heute Software entwickelt, schreibt nicht alles selbst. Man benutzt wiederverwendbare Programmierbausteine, sogenannte Open Source-Komponenten. Diese sind kostenlos, aber sie unterliegen Lizenzen. Für große Unternehmen wie SAP sind Lizenzen, die als Nutzungsbedingung die Veröffentlichung des eigenen Source Codes verlangen, ein No-Go. Sie benötigen Software, die sicherstellt, dass nur Whitelist-Komponenten verbaut werden – und der Mannheimer Robert Reiz hat aus diesem Umstand das Geschäftsmodell seines Unternehmens VersionEye entwickelt. 

 

Moin Robert!, zurück aus München?

Jo, war gestern dort im WERK 1, dem größten Coworking Space der Stadt. Das war früher mal eine Kartoffelfabrik, die jetzt umgebaut wurde. Man sieht allerdings noch gut, dass es eine Fabrik war – ist alles sehr industriell und ein bisschen abgewrackt. Ein altes Betongebäude, fast so groß wie das MAFINEX. Was ich dort richtig gut finde ist, dass es große Küchen mit großen Tischen für alle gibt. Dort kann man gut zusammenkommen und sich austauschen.

 

_MG_6240
Gründer und Softwareentwickler Robert Reiz

 

Und gut erreichbar war es auch?

Ja, es liegt in der Nähe des Ostbahnhofs, gut erreichbar mit den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Unten gibt es wie im Betahaus in Berlin eine Cafeteria. Dort trifft man sich und geht in den Coworking-Space. Außerdem gibt es kleine Büros für Startups und sogar einen Inkubator für Versicherungs-Startups. Auf der anderen Seite des Gebäudes ist ein Nachtclub – man ist also rundum versorgt.

Da können wir uns also noch etwas abgucken?

Ja, Mannheim ist schon eine gute Stadt für Gründer, aber man muss das Startup-Ecosystem weiter ausbauen. Es gibt zum Beispiel keine Inkubatoren oder Acceleratoren hier. Jetzt macht die MVV einen Inkubator für Energie-Startups in Berlin auf, da frage ich mich doch: Warum nicht in Mannheim? Berlin ist ja nicht gerade als DER Standort für Energiewirtschaft bekannt.

Was verstehst du unter Inkubator?

Eine oder mehrere Firmen setzen einen Fond auf und schreiben ein Programm aus zu einem bestimmten Thema, wie Energie, Robotic oder Bio-Chemie. Startups, deren Produkt zum Thema passt, können sich dann bewerben und wenn sie akzeptiert werden, bekommen sie für ein paar Monate Geld, kostenlose Büroräume und einen Mentor zur Verfügung gestellt. In der Regel laufen solche Programme sechs Monate lang mit fünf bis zehn Startups. Nach der “Inkubationszeit” gibt es entweder eine Anschlussfinanzierung oder das Startup muss auf eigene Kosten weitermachen. Ein Inkubator ist immer themenbezogen und privatwirtschaftlich initiiert.

Warum tun Firmen das?

Große Firmen haben das Problem, dass sie nicht innovativ sind. Menschen die 30 Jahre und mehr in einem großen Konzern arbeiten, sind so sehr in gefestigten Strukturen gefangen, dass sie die Fähigkeit verlieren, neue innovative Ideen zu entwickeln. Da geht es dann nur noch um das operative Geschäft. Deshalb holen sich Firmen die Innovation über Startups rein und setzen dazu Inkubator-Programme auf. Im besten Fall wird das Startup in den Konzern übernommen und integriert.

Und Mannheim?

Könnte das eigentlich auch haben – es gibt hier viel mehr große erfolgreiche Firmen als in Berlin. Wir haben hier in der Region unter anderem die ABB, BASF, Roche, John Deere, SAP und die Software AG! Und wir haben in der Region gleich mehrere Universitäten und technische Hochschulen und damit jede Menge Brainpower! Warum haben wir hier also keine Inkubatoren, die Innovationen im Energie, Chemie und Software Sektor fördern?

 

_MG_6175

 

Aber wie läuft das im WERK 1?

Mehrere Versicherungen aus Deutschland finanzieren im WERK 1 einen Inkubator zum Thema “InsurTech”. Startups aus ganz Deutschland können sich bewerben und werden im Erfolgsfall dann für sechs Monate unterstützt. Sie erhalten kostenlose Büroräume, Coaching von erfahrenen Experten und etwas Geld. Das alles hat einen Wert von ca. 50.000 Euro. Das Ziel ist es, in den sechs Monaten ein marktfähiges Produkt zu entwickeln.

Du selbst bist auch Gründer, wie lief das bei dir?

2005 habe ich mein Studium hier in Mannheim abgeschlossen und war dann ein Jahr lang fest angestellt als Software-Entwickler in einem kleinen Startup. Dann habe ich in die Freiberuflichkeit gewechselt, weil das finanziell lukrativer war. 2008 habe ich dann die PLOIN GmbH gegründet.

 

_MG_7922-3

 

PLOIN? Was heißt PLOIN?

Nichts … ist ein Kunstwort, hab‘ ich mir ausgedacht. Die Firma habe ich dann 2010 an die Reutax AG verkauft. Die haben dann einen Spin Off in San Francisco draus gemacht. Ich bin mitgegangen und hatte eine leitende Position inne. Ich habe ein Jahr im Silicon Valley gearbeitet und mitgeholfen, das Startup dort aufzubauen. Weil ich aber irgendwann nicht mehr viel Potenzial in dem Projekt gesehen habe, habe ich gekündigt. Was wiederum hieß, dass ich die USA verlassen musste, weil ich ein Investorenvisum hatte, das dann nicht mehr galt.

Mist!

Naja, da war es schon cool, aber auch sehr teuer. Und während die Touristen dort immer nur das gute sehen, sieht man bei längerem Aufenthalt dort auch die vielen, vielen Obdachlosen und viele andere Probleme.

Und dann erst mal zurück nach Hause?

Ja, zurück nach Mannheim, was mir nach einem Jahr San Francisco ein bisschen klein vorkam. In San Francisco hatte ich aber jemanden kennen gelernt, der aus Berlin kam, den ich dann dort besucht habe. Erst war ich nur eine Woche da, habe dort festgestellt, dass da so einiges mit Startups ging und blieb von 2012 bis 2014 in Berlin und habe dort mit meiner jetzigen Firma, der VersionEye GmbH, losgelegt. Ich habe viele Leute von namhaften Startups und VCs kennen gelernt und habe auch selbst ein Investment bekommen. Allerdings war ich in Berlin irgendwie nicht am richtigen Ort. Dort ist einfach alles sehr Business to Customer-getrieben. Wenn ein Startup dort Geld bekommt, dann investiert es erst einmal in Marketing und PR, man will natürlich erst mal berühmt werden… Die meisten haben zunächst sogar gar kein Interesse, Geld zu verdienen, sondern wollen möglichst viele User haben, um dann von Facebook gekauft zu werden. Aka Businessplan Hoffnung.

Was wolltest du anders machen?

Ich bin aus der Reihe getanzt, weil ich B2B (Business to Business) gemacht habe und langsamer skaliert habe als die B2C-Shops um mich herum. Das war für Investoren in Berlin nicht so attraktiv. Die waren mehr an „user growth“ interessiert als an zahlenden Kunden. Und als dann das Geld vom ersten Investment aufgebraucht war und ich in Berlin auch keine Anschlussfinanzierung bekam, hatte ich dann eh genug von der ganzen Szene dort. Zu viel Hype und heiße Luft. Alle gehen die ganze Zeit auf Startup-Events und lernen ewig viele Leute kennen, sammeln Kontakte auf Xing und LinkedIn. Aber am Ende bringt dich das alles nicht weiter. Zurück in Mannheim habe ich dann aufgehört, mit Investoren zu reden. Ich habe einfach alle Anfragen konsequent ignoriert und auf Events war ich auch nicht mehr. Stattdessen habe ich mich voll auf mein Produkt konzentriert. Das hat auch mehr Spaß gemacht als irgendwelchen BWLern meinen USP (Unique Selling Proposition) zu erklären.

 

_MG_7964-5

 

Aber dann kam irgendwann doch der Durchbruch?

Als ich nach Mannheim zurück kam, war ich ziemlich am Ende. Kurz vor der Insolvenz! Aber hier habe ich zwei Angel-Investoren aus meinem Bekanntenkreis gefunden die durchaus Potential in dem B2B-Produkt sahen und mich die ersten paar Monate finanziell über Wasser gehalten haben. Bis dann die erste Anfrage von einer großen Firma kam, von der XING AG aus Hamburg. Das war mein erster großer Enterprise-Kunde. Kurz darauf kam dann ein großer Software Konzern mit drei Buchstaben und aus Waldorf als Kunde dazu. Und obwohl ich keine Millionen User habe, lief das Projekt und trug sich finanziell. Zurzeit hat VersionEye über 42.000 angemeldete User und es kommen jeden Monat 2000 neue dazu. Damit ist VersionEye jetzt sogar für Investoren aus Berlin interessant aber jetzt will ich deren Geld nicht mehr. Ich bin unabhängig!

Und Mannheim passt für dich?

Ich komme von hier, habe hier studiert, meine Familie und meine Freunde sind hier. Wenn ich in Köln aufgewachsen wäre, dann wäre ich jetzt wohl dort. Klare Heimatverbundenheit. Im Odenwald kann man sehr gut Mountain-Bike fahren und jetzt starten ja auch bald wieder die ganzen Weinfeste! An jedem Wochenende ein anderes. Das hat man in Berlin und Köln nicht.

 

_MG_6202

 

Interview: Paul Heesch / bauteil.b

Fotos: Daniel Lukac


www.versioneye.com

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Neueste Beiträge