UP2B

The new "breakthrough" accelerator

The Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region is about to become even more interesting for start-ups: the fresh Up2b accelerator program is a joint venture consisting of three strong partners. Coming from from Mannheim, Walldorf and Heidelberg, they have united to provide better support for start-ups. To find out why Up2b is a real „breakthrough“ we met up with Paul Becker (Technologiepark Heidelberg), Thomas Lindner (innoWerft Walldorf) and Florian Fischer and Pricila Weixler (Startup Mannheim).

 

Up2b is currently using the slogan: „Wanna break through?“. How do you answer this this question towards start-ups in IT?

Thomas Lindner: We have set out to bring more coherence and consistency to the start-up scene in the Rhine-Neckar region.

 

Florian Fischer, Paul Becker, Pricila Weixler and Thomas Lindner

 

And how will that happen?

Thomas Lindner: We all feel that the start-up scene in the Rhine-Neckar region can be better promoted if we present ourselves as a region, rather than singular cities. If you look at Silicon Valley, which is a real paragon of this idea, then you will find it stretches along a length that reaches from Darmstadt to Karlsruhe. I believe that with the b2b-driven start-ups, with the high-tech and so forth, we can create a cluster in the region, that can very well compete with München, Berlin or Frankfurt.

Pricila Weixler: Every location has its advantages, which allows the regional players to complement each other perfectly. And start-ups are more part of the region than a city.

Florian Fischer: This is the first time we are all so closely working together. We aren’t just supporting each other, or doing preliminary work for each other, but are reliable partners that see eye to eye.

Thomas Lindner: Exactly! And we want to develop a brand for this. No matter what a start-up should need, they can find it in the region: middle class, support, corporations or co-working spaces.

Florian Fischer: We want to create a central contact point, everything is centrally pooled, thus creating more transparency. Our cooperation has given us insight into what everyone else is doing, so we can channel requests by start-ups much better.

Who are you targeting?

Pricila Weixler: Primarily start-ups, but also corporations that are interested in getting in contact with start-ups. In the end it’s all about the ecosystem, not about a single contact point. We want to have different players in the game to offer start-ups the optimal conditions. The reason everyone is so keen on Berlin, is because of the ecosystem they offer.

Thomas Lindner: …and the b2c-crowd can gladly run off to Berlin. We like to say: If anyone is interested in starting up in b2b, in high-tech, or in medical technology for example, can come to us, to the Rhine-Neckar region. We’ve got everything necessary on offer: universities, corporations, clients, the highest density of DAX companies, great medium-sized companies and so forth. And everything is half an hour away by city train!

What are Up2b’s objectives?

Paul Becker: It has several dimensions. In the end we are successful if the start-ups are successful, because we supplied the beneficial conditions for them. If we can generate 20 medium-sized companies and a beacon, then we really made something happen! In the medium term it is a success to get the country on the page that the region is great for start-ups. Though that is only a means to an end.

 

 

How are you planning on making that happen?

Paul Becker: The accelerator is a bundling of forces, to help start-ups. The pillars of the accelerator are programs such as „Breakthrough“, a nine-week program for early-stage-start-ups, to make them marketable. Another program was „Firecamp“, for start-ups that are already market-ready, to make them investment-ready.

Florian Fischer: These elements have a build-up effect. You can visit them one after the other, or just a single program. This way we offer a long-term, stringent support phase. Any one of these programs is cooperative. Every partner brings along their expertise and network. We don’t just connect start-ups with the regional market leaders CEOs or with investors, but beyond that we want to establish a network of support amongst the start-ups as well. At the end of our programs the focus is always on the teams and their work.

Thomas Lindner: And all this is offered in various forms, with differing goals and target groups, and in various places around the region – and it’s all for free! Other accelerators will often demand shares or the like, which we don’t. We don’t have to profit financially as we are publicly subsidized. With „Firecamp“ we selected 12 start-ups from many applicants. „Breakthrough“ offered spots for 25 start-ups, so around 75 people. „Firecamp“ hosted over 20 mentors, 8 of which were investors, 4 lawyers, and 2 pitch-trainers. „Breakthrough“ hosts 80 mentors!

 

 

Everything pro bono?

Thomas Lindner: Almost, with the exception of professional providers such as the pitch-trainers. For such things we are subsidized by the Land and by the European Union, through the European Social Fund (ESF). To cover the next three years we have around one million euros for the program. 50% are funded by the EU, 30% by the Land, and the final 20% are our contribution.

How many employees are at Up2B?

Thomas Lindner: At the moment we have a staff of four. But there are some of our own firms people that will help out. Unfortunately we can’t use the funding for material resources, so we have to take care of costs for catering, materials and the like, from our own money. But so are the funding guidelines of the ESF.

What value added does the program generate?

Florian Fischer: As a start-up region the value added we can offer is the high density of large corporations, and the intermediation between them and the start-ups. We create a framework that enables start-ups to grow faster. The subject of scalability is also significant. To ensure scalability we need a viable product, that matches up with consumer expectations. To test their product and determine its viability many start-ups don’t have the right access to a consumer base. Usually the start-ups can’t offer the necessary credibility and brand recognition. Which is something the big players have no problem with.

Pricila Weixler: At the same time corporations are on the look-out for new tech and more dynamic work models. This allows for a win-win-situation. On the other hand the parties are often very far divided culturally. Corporations have a very different feel for time and resources, while start-ups function more dynamically. An intermediary platform is necessary. We step in and help to ensure that both parties can concentrate on cooperating and growing.

Thomas Lindner: It’s about sparring, feedback, challenging new ideas and focusing resources. We will really push start-ups into the market. Most start-ups in tech think: „We have to finish the code before we market the product“. The thing is though: software is never finished! This causes them to miss the right window or never get out there even. When the market tells you: „Nice idea. But a tad late!“, most of your energy is often gone. This is why we tell people to get out there by all costs. If all you have is a screen prototype, or a mock-up … get out and test the thing! Find out all you can about consideration and willingness to pay for the product!

Florian Fischer: Us Germans aren’t risk takers and tend to stride to carefully. But the right way to start up is to be ballsy! Just do your thing, get funded and rapidly scale! It’s not for everyone, and that’s fine. But if you really want it, you need the right framework. There are infinite ideas, and everyday problems have the potential to produce big start-up ideas. If you want to be successful you have to be the fastest to market the product. It’s all about proactively sharing information and learning from each other. Our program is a great place to achieve this.

 

 

Why the focus on tech start-ups and b2b?

Paul Becker: For one, there are strong companies in these areas in the region, such as SAP and BASF. Theses guys are interested in in b2b offers. Also there are many university graduates with technical degrees, for example from Karlsruhe, that are interested in starting up. And lastly Berlin ist the place to pursue b2c start-up ideas, and Munich is all about engineering. The Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region is where to be if you are interested in a start-up in IT with a b2b focus.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG Content. Corporate. Communication.

Photos: Sebastian Weindel

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Recent Posts

UP2B

Der neue „Breakthrough“-Accelerator

Für Startups wird die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar jetzt noch attraktiver: das neue Accelerator-Programm Up2B ist ein Joint Venture von drei starken Partnern aus Mannheim, Walldorf und Heidelberg, um Gründer noch intensiver zu fördern. Warum Up2B für ein erfolgreiches „Breakthrough“ steht, erklären Paul Becker vom Technologiepark Heidelberg, Thomas Lindner von der innoWerft Walldorf und Florian Fischer und Pricila Weixler von Startup Mannheim.

 

Der Slogan des aktuellen Up2B Programms lautet „Wanna break through?“ Welche Antworten erhalten IT-Startups auf diese Frage?

Thomas Lindner: Wir sind angetreten, um die Gründerszene in Rhein-Neckar kohärenter und konsistenter zu gestalten.

 

Florian Fischer, Paul Becker, Pricila Weixler und Thomas Lindner

 

Wie funktioniert das genau?

Thomas Lindner: Wir denken alle, dass die Gründerszene Rhein-Neckar noch besser kommunizierbar ist, wenn wir nicht als einzelne Städte agieren, sondern als Region. Wenn ich mir das Silicon Valley ansehe, an dem wir uns ja immer gerne messen oder dem wir entgegenstreben, dann ist das eine Region, die in etwa eine Ausdehnung von Karlsruhe bis Darmstadt hätte. Ich glaube wir haben hier in der Region die Chance mit B2B-getriebenen Startups, mit High-Tech und Co. ein Cluster entwickeln zu können, welches es mit München, Berlin oder Frankfurt aufnehmen kann.

Pricila Weixler: Ich denke auch, dass jeder Standort seine eigenen Vorteile hat. Wir können uns hier in der Region optimal ergänzen. Und ein Startup gründet man vielleicht auch eher in der Region als in einer einzelnen Stadt.

Florian Fischer: Das ist das erste Projekt, in dem wir so eng zusammenarbeiten. Wir unterstützen uns dabei nicht in einzelnen Projekten oder arbeiten einander zu, sondern sind Partner auf Augenhöhe.

Thomas Lindner: Genau, und dafür wollen wir eine Marke entwickeln. Egal, was ein Startup benötigt, hier in der Region finden es immer genau das, was es braucht: Mittelstand, Förderung, Konzerne oder Coworking-Spaces.

Florian Fischer: Und es gibt auch eine zentrale Anlaufstelle, alles wird gebündelt und dadurch werden die Angebote transparenter. Wir wissen durch die Kooperation jetzt besser, was die Anderen tun und können die Anfragen von Startups viel besser kanalisieren.

Wer sind die Zielgruppen des Programms?

Pricila Weixler: Vor allem Gründer, aber auch Corporates, die mit Startups in Kontakt kommen wollen. Letztendlich geht es immer um ein Ökosystem, nicht nur um eine einzelne Anlaufstelle. Verschiedene Player arbeiten hier zusammen, um den Startups die optimalen Bedingungen bieten zu können. Es rennen ja auch alle nach Berlin, weil sie dort ein gutes Ökosystem vorfinden…

Thomas Lindner: …und da können die Startups mit den B2C-Ideen auch gerne hingehen. Wir sagen: wenn Ihr eine B2B-Firma gründen wollt, in einem High-Tech-Bereich oder der Medizintechnologie beispielsweise, dann kommt zu uns in die Rhein-Neckar-Region, denn dafür gibt es hier gute Voraussetzungen: Hochschulen, Corporates, Kunden, die höchste Dichte an DAX-Konzernen, toller Mittelstand und so weiter. Und alles ist innerhalb einer halben S-Bahn-Stunde erreichbar!

Was ist die Zielsetzung des Up2B-Programms?

Paul Becker: Das hat verschiedene Dimensionen. Am Ende sind wir natürlich erfolgreich, wenn die Startups erfolgreich sind, weil wir günstige Bedingungen für sie geschaffen haben. Wenn wir zwanzig Mittelständler und einen Leuchtturm generieren, haben wir was geschafft! Mittelbar ist es aber auch ein Erfolg, wenn man in Deutschland darüber spricht, dass unsere Region eine gute für Gründer ist. Das ist aber nur Mittel zum Zweck.

 

 

Und wie genau sollen diese Ziele erreicht werden?

Paul Becker: Der Accelerator ist eine Bündelung von Kräften, die Startups helfen soll. Die Säulen des Accelerators sind Programme wie „Breakthrough“, ein neunwöchiges Programm für Early-Stage-Startups, dass sie marktfähig machen soll. Ein anderes Programm war das „Firecamp“ für Startups, die schon „market-ready“ waren und die „investment-ready“ werden sollten.

Florian Fischer: Die einzelnen Elemente haben einen aufbauenden Charakter. Man kann sie nacheinander durchlaufen, aber auch nur ein einzelnes besuchen. Damit bieten wir eine langfristige, stringente Förderphase an. Jedes dieser Programme ist kooperativ. Jeder der Partner bringt seine Stärken und sein Netzwerk ein. Wir vernetzen die teilnehmenden Startups nicht nur mit interessanten Managern der regionalen Weltmarktführer und Investoren. Viel mehr fördern wir auch den Austausch zwischen den Startups um eine Kultur des Gegenseitigen Supports zu etablieren. Am Ende aller unserer Programmformate stehen die Teams und ihre Entwicklung im Mittelpunkt.

Thomas Lindner: Und das passiert in unterschiedlichen Formaten, unterschiedlichen Zielsetzungen und Adressatengruppen und an unterschiedlichen Orten in der Region – und alles ist kostenlos! In anderen Accelerator-Programmen müssen Anteile des Startups abgetreten werden oder Ähnliches, bei uns ist das nicht so. Wir müssen kein Geld verdienen, weil wir öffentlich gefördert werden. Beim Firecamp haben wir aus vielen Bewerbern 12 Teilnehmer ausgewählt. Bei Break Through nehmen 25 Startups teil, also etwa 75 Personen. Bei „Firecamp“ hatten wir über 20 Mentoren. Davon acht Investoren, vier Rechtsanwälte, zwei Pitchtrainer. Bei „Breakthrough“ haben wir 80 Mentoren!

 

 

Alles pro bono?

Thomas Lindner: Ja, die meisten schon –mit Ausnahme von professionellen Anbietern wie beispielsweise den Pitch-Trainern. Dafür beziehen wir Mittel vom Land und von der Europäischen Union durch den Europäischen Sozialfond ESF. Für die nächsten drei Jahre haben wir etwas über eine Million Euro für das Programm. 50 Prozent kommen von der EU, vom Land 30 Prozent und weitere 20 Prozent sind unser Eigenanteil.

Wie viele Mitarbeiter hat Up2B?

Thomas Lindner: Aktuell sind es vier Stellen, aber es helfen immer noch andere Leute aus unseren Firmen mit. Leider können wir aus der Förderung keine Sachmittel bezahlen – für Catering, Material und Co. müssen wir selbst aufkommen. Aber so sind die ESF-Förderrichtlinien.

Welcher Mehrwert wird mit dem Programm geschaffen?

Florian Fischer: Der Value-Added, den wir als Startup-Region bieten können, ist die hohe Dichte an großen Unternehmen und die Vermittlung zwischen diesen und den Startups. Wir schaffen Rahmenbedingungen, die es Startups ermöglichen, schneller zu wachsen. Es geht dabei auch immer um das Thema Skalierbarkeit. Dafür muss ich zunächst ein Minimal Viable Product haben, dass so halbwegs damit übereinstimmt, was der Konsument des Produktes nachher haben will. Um das zu testen, die ersten Annahmen zu validieren und am Ende ein Produkt anzubieten, das die Kunden lieben, fehlt Startups oft der Zugang zu Kunden.  In der Regel haben sie noch nicht genügend Credibility und Ihre Marke ist noch zu schwach. Die größeren Player können das aber ohne Probleme bieten.

Pricila Weixler: Gleichzeitig suchen die Corporates nach neuen Technologien, nach dynamischeren Arbeitskulturen und dadurch entsteht eine Win-Win-Situation für beide Parteien, die allerdings auch kulturell oft weit auseinanderliegen. Corporates haben eine ganz andere Wahrnehmung, wenn es um Geld und Zeit geht. Startups sind da dynamischer und deshalb braucht es eine vermittelnde Plattform. Wir helfen, damit sich die Partner auf die Zusammenarbeit und das Wachstum konzentrieren können.

Thomas Lindner: Es geht um Sparring, Feedback, das Herausfordern von Ideen und um Fokussierung. Wir treiben die Startups wirklich heftig in den Markt. Die meisten Gründer mit Tech-Hintergrund denken, „ich kann erst auf den Markt, wenn ich fertig bin“. Das Problem ist aber: Software wird nie fertig! Deswegen sind sie dann nie auf dem Markt oder erst sehr spät. Wenn dann der Markt sagt, „nette Idee, aber knapp vorbei!“, dann ist oft alle Energie schon verbraucht. Deswegen sagen wir: „Raus mit euch! Und wenn ihr nur einen Screen-Prototype oder ein Mockup habt! Geht raus und testet! Testet die Kauf- und Zahlungsbereitschaft!“

Florian Fischer: In Deutschland tendieren wir alle eher dazu, risikoavers zu sein, nicht den direkten Weg zu gehen. Doch der ist am Ende der Startup-Weg, die Dreistigkeit, einfach zu machen, rauszugehen, sich Investorengelder zu holen und schnell zu skalieren. Das will nicht jeder, das muss auch nicht jeder, aber die, die es wollen, brauchen ein Framework. Ideen gibt es viele, jedes Problem des Alltags hat das Potential für eine Startup-Idee. Aber wenn du mit deiner Idee erfolgreich sein willst, musst du schneller sein am Markt als alle anderen. Es geht dann darum, Wissen proaktiv zu teilen und voneinander zu lernen. Da bietet so ein Programm gute Voraussetzungen.

 

 

Warum fokussiert Ihr auf Tech-Startups und B2B?

Paul Becker: Erstens, weil wir hier in der Region Firmen haben – SAP, BASF und Co – die in diesen Bereichen sehr stark sind. Für die sind B2B-Angebote sehr interessant. Zweitens kommen aus der Region, etwa aus Karlsruhe, viele Hochschulabsolventen aus technischen Studiengängen, die gründen wollen. Drittens ist Berlin im  B2C-Bereich super erfolgreich und in München ist der Maschinenbau stark vertreten. IT-Startups mit B2B-Hintergrund finden hingegen hier in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar die besten Voraussetzungen um erfolgreich zu sein.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG Content. Corporate. Communication.

Fotos: Sebastian Weindel

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Neueste Beiträge