Trauth Fabrikate

Modern workwear by Gabriel Franz Trauth and Marcel Hofmann

Mannheim fashion designer Gabriel Franz Trauth has reinvented the apron dress with his collection „The circle in quadra“, turning the item into a lifestyle statement for professional chefs and ambitious hobby cooks. Together with Marcel Hofmann he has founded the Trauth Fabrikate label, that has dedicated itself to developing and producing modern workwear. To find out how the label transforms work clothing into fashion pieces visit the Talk to-Interview. And we met up with Gabriel and Marcel to ask why they set up shop in Mannheim, and nowhere else.

Marcel Hofmann (left) and Gabriel Franz Trauth

 

What’s something you have always wanted to say about the city of Mannheim?

Gabriel: The truth really is – you cry twice: when you arrive here, and when you leave. Once you have connected to this city, you won’t want to let it go. It’s the way it is. I know no one that begs to differ.

Marcel: I’ve been here since I was in school. The city was always good to me, and I appreciate to have grown up here. Anyone interested in visiting Mannheim shouldn’t be deterred by the first rough touch down. On the other hand I have to say: you could very well shine your shoes once in a while, Mannheim!

It’s been a mere two years since Gabriel and Marcel started their label. By today top-chefs and established companies from all over Europe are among their clients. Learn all about their success story made in Mannheim in the Talk To-Video.

 

 

In which district do you live, and why?

Gabriel: I’m at home in Nekarstadt, as I love the district’s multicultural mix and can stay away from the busy city center. I like to work out in the Herzogenried-Park or along the Neckars grasslands. To end the evening on a classic note I like to relax on the terrace of the Adria café.

Marcel: After having lived here for some time I back out of Mannheim at the moment. I’m a big fan of the Schwetzinger Stadt. i like its charm and central location. Every once in a while it will draw me back there, in particular to family-owned cafés and bars, such as the Lido.

 

What is something interesting for tourists in Mannheim?

Gabriel: Many things are! The city can’t offer a picture-perfect idyll, which is the reason many visitors of Heidelberg won’t visit here. What they are missing out on is experiencing a unique urban mix: from art nouveau gems all the way to industrial charm.

Marcel: Mannheim is a melting pot of different cultures and varied interests. The city has a lot more to offer than you expect at a first glance. It’s hard to shake the working-class city image. On a closer look, however, one will will find the inner beauty that Mannheim hides.

What do you guys show friends that come to visit?

Gabriel: We will always visit the creative business center C-HUB at the port, and of course the Textilerei. Most people are astonished by what the city has to offer for start-ups. A walk along the Rhine Promenade is up next. And in the evening you have to go to Jungbusch – and this will take place in the following order: Hagestolz, Blau, Onkel Otto Bar and finally Rhodos.

Marcel: I can only agree with Gabriel, but would like to add a trip to the city’s landmarks the water tower and castle.

 

 

Where do you like to go for dinner? Any tips?

Gabriel: Henriette Burger has the best burgers in town. For great tapas visit Zweite Liebe and for lunch hit Glück und Verstand. To grab an espresso and a panini I recommend Café Prag. After that you can always check out Café Rizz, a classic bar that still allows one to have a smoke.

Marcel: I concur. And can also add Café Lido and Emma Wolf, in Q 6 Q 7, to the list. Dennis Maiers Cooking Gang is cooking there wearing our gear. Le Comptoir 17 and the newly opened Fundament are also great spots to check out.

 

 

How is Mannheim often underestimated?

Gabriel: Economic strength! Cultural offerings!

Marcel: I imagine the dynamic start-up scene here is often underestimated, as well as the extensive range of events offered, and the access to business networks and funders. I find there to be a great deal of readiness to help and open-mindedness here in Mannheim. Start-up culture is a natural component of urban policy.

 

Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG Content. Corporate. Communication.

Video-Interview: Nico Hoffmeister / Textilerei

Photos: Ricardo Wiesinger

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Recent Posts

Trauth Fabrikate

Zeitgemäße Workwear von Gabriel Franz Trauth und Marcel Hofmann

Der Mannheimer Mode-Designer Gabriel Franz Trauth hat mit seiner Kollektion „The circle in quadra“ die Kittelschürze neu erfunden – und zu einem Lifestyle-Item für Profiköche und ambitionierte Hobbyköche gemacht. Zusammen mit Marcel Hofmann startete er das Label Trauth Fabrikate, das sich der Produktion und Entwicklung von zeitgemäßer Workwear verschrieben hat. Wie Arbeitsbekleidung bei ihnen zur Mode wird, erfahrt Ihr hier im Talk to-Interview – und wir haben Gabriel und Marcel gefragt, warum sie ihr Label in Mannheim und nirgendwo sonst gegründet haben.

 

Marcel Hofmann (links) und Gabriel Franz Trauth

 

Was wolltet Ihr immer schon mal über Mannheim loswerden?

Gabriel: Die Wahrheit ist – in Mannheim weint man wirklich zwei Mal: wenn man kommt, und wenn man wieder gehen muss. Hat man sich auf die Stadt eingelassen, will man nicht mehr weg. Und das stimmt tatsächlich. Ich kenne niemanden, der was anderes behauptet.

Marcel: Ich kenne Mannheim seit meiner Schulzeit. Die Stadt war immer gut zu mir, und ich weiß es sehr zu schätzen, hier aufgewachsen zu sein. Jeder der mit dem Gedanken spielt, Mannheim zu besuchen, sollte sich nicht von einem herben ersten Eindruck täuschen lassen. Aber ich finde auch: gerne darfst Du Dir mal Deine Schuhe putzen, liebe Stadt Mannheim!

Erst vor zwei Jahren gründeten Gabriel und Marcel ihr Startup – heute zählen Top-Köche und Unternehmen aus ganz Europa zu ihren Kunden. Im Talk To-Video erzählen sie ihre Erfolgsgeschichte made in Mannheim.

 

 

In welchem Stadtteil lebt Ihr und warum?

Gabriel: In wohne in der Neckarstadt, denn ich liebe das multikulturelle Miteinander und kann hier dem Trubel der Quadrate entgehen. Sport mache ich sehr gerne im Herzogenried-Park oder auf den Neckarwiesen. Den Abend lässt man am besten ganz klassisch auf der Terrasse des Cafés Adria ausklingen.

Marcel: Nach einiger Zeit in der Stadt wohne ich momentan wieder außerhalb von Mannheim. Ganz weit vorne ist für mich die Schwetzinger Stadt aufgrund ihres Charmes und der zentralen Lage. zu dem schönen Rest von Mannheim. Hin und wieder verschlägt es mich dorthin zurück, vor allem in die inhabergeführten Cafés und Bars wie das Lido.

 

Was können Touristen in Mannheim entdecken?

Gabriel: Sehr viel! Die Stadt bietet keine Postkartenidylle, weshalb Heidelberg-Touristen die Nachbar-Stadt Mannheim oft links liegen. Doch dann verpassen sie es, einen besonderen Mix urbaner Vielfalt zu erleben: von Jugendstilperlen bis hin zum Industrie-Charme.

Marcel: Mannheim ist für mich ein spannender Schmelztiegel vieler Kulturen und unterschiedlichster Interessen. Die Stadt hat viel mehr zu bieten, als man auf den ersten Blick meinen könnte. Das alte Arbeiterstadt-Image eilt Mannheim oft noch voraus, wer jedoch näher hinsieht, entdeckt die innere Schönheit der Stadt.

Was zeigt ihr Freunden, die zu Besuch kommen?`

Gabriel: Wir zeigen Freunden immer das Kreativwirtschaftszentrum C-HUB am Hafen und die Textilerei. Die meisten staunen dann sehr, welche Angebote Startups hier nutzen können. Danach gibt es einen Spaziergang an der Rheinpromenade und abends geht‘s dann natürlich in den Jungbusch – und zwar in folgender Reihenfolge: Hagestolz, Blau, Onkel Otto Bar und abschliessend Rhodos.

Marcel: Hier schließe ich mich Gabriel an, möchte aber einen Ausflug an die Wahrzeichen von Mannheim, den Wasserturm und das Schloss ergänzen.

 

Wo geht Ihr gern essen – was sind Eure Tipps?

Gabriel: Henriette Burger – dort gibt’s die besten Burger in Town. Gute Tapas im Restaurant Zweite Liebe, Mittagstisch bei Glück und Verstand, Espresso und Panini im Café Prag. Und dann ins Café Rizz – eine klassische Bar mit Stil – Rauchen erlaubt.

Marcel: Da wir viel zusammen unterwegs sind, kann ich die Liste noch um Locations wie das Café Lido und das Restaurant Emma Wolf im Quartier Q 6 Q 7 ergänzen, wo Dennis Maiers Cooking Gang unsere Schürzen trägt. Das Le Comptoir 17 und das neu eröffnete Fundament sind ebenso wärmstens zu empfehlen.

 

In welchen Bereichen wird Mannheim unterschätzt?

Gabriel: Wirtschaftskraft! Kulturelles Angebot!

Marcel: Kann sein, dass die Dynamik der Mannheimer Startup-Szene noch unterschätzt wird, genau wir das umfangreiche Angebot an Events sowie der Zugang zu Business-Netzwerken und Förderern. Es gibt untereinander eine sehr große Hilfsbereitschaft und Offenheit ­ – und Gründungskultur ist hier selbstverständlicher Teil der Stadtpolitik.

 

Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG Content. Corporate. Communication.

Video-Interview: Nico Hoffmeister / Textilerei

Fotos: Ricardo Wiesinger

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Neueste Beiträge