Food-to-Market-Hack

A different kind of hackathon

In the creative industries center C-HUB the „Food-to-Market-Hack“ is kicking off in March. The event is organized by Startup Mannheim on behalf of WILD Flavors & Specialty Ingredients, which is located in Eppelheim, and is part of the ADM food corporation. We sat down for a talk about the hackathon and the chances they see for startups in the food sector with the organizers Attif Gharbi, Maria Uhlmann and Jonas Neidinger.  

 

Is a food-hackathon going to be 50 people meeting up in a large-scale kitchen? 

Attif Gharbi: The event isn’t about cooking, but rather focuses on a Go-to-Market perspective. We’re on the lookout for startups with fresh ideas, that want to push innovative products. We want to help tackle the questions of how to market the products, which target groups are relevant and the best approach to promote the products. Is „Hello Fresh“ the right place to start, or rather Lidl or Nestlé?

Jonas Neidinger: This is why we chose the title „Food-to-Market-Hack“. Hack comes from hackathon, which are events that take place to program prototypes. We aren’t interested in prototyping though, but rather in coming up with marketing concepts.

 

The organizers: Jonas Neidinger, Attif Gharbi and Maria Uhlmann

 

And how does the event work?

Attif Gharbi: We have innovative and market-ready products. And we search for the right people to market these products with passion. We aren’t interested in people that are only here for the 4000 Euro prize. We want to find the people that are missing a certain product, or that are intimidated by the expensive process connected with pushing a product to market readiness. It’s cool if participants have experience with start-up culture. And it’s generally a great deal for anyone that wishes to become their own boss.

Jonas Neidinger: We don’t let out information regarding the products before the event. Only once everyone is on site do we present the products involved. We are planning to present three products to the teams by our experts and afterwards the teams can choose which product they wish to pursue. To be passionate about what you are selling is very important for a statups success. These are the kind of people we are looking for, people that are convinced of the products viability and are ready to give it what they’ve got.

Maria Uhlmann: We don’t want to push our way of thinking, which is why we let the teams make their own choices. We want to allow for fresh perspectives, be it Store-in-store concepts or any other way to tackle a product. Before a product will hit the shelves it must have become part of the mainstream, which will take two years. Startups have a very different dynamic — large food manufacturers will take long periods to develop a product. we want to find people that make things simpler.

 

 

Where will the event take place?

Maria Uhlmann: The main event will take place in C-HUB, in the Mannheim Jungbusch, over the course of two days. After that we are planning to support start-ups directly in cooperation with Startup Mannheim. We will support the startups all the way to the market.

… and also on their way towards investors?

Jonas Neidinger: Where appropriate, of course! Or we might help with the initial production phase, or such things. Though we aren’t interested in giving anyone a free ride. We take a very good look a the concepts and in the end securing financing is usually not a big deal, as the expensive development and testing phases have already been cleared with our products. Our focus is not on investing and later opting out with a profit, but rather on really creating and pushing lasting concepts and products. Our partner Startup Mannheim will help with office infrastructure, counseling, workplaces and so forth.

What audience does the food-hackathon target?

Maria Uhlmann: Anyone that feels like it could work for them: designers, marketing experts, young people with good ideas. If you’ve got passion and ideas, then submit an application! By the end of the workshop there might be a design or a new channel of distribution.

What chances and perspectives do startups have in the food sector?

Jonas Neidinger: In Europe the market for beverages is quite saturated. The range of products is stagnating. But Kelloggs for example recently bought a startup for 600 million dollars, that basically only produces one product: protein bars. These guys had started their business in their garage and marketed the bars directly to stores and gyms. They had put together the packaging in Powerpoint, but in the end the product was well received and the success was great. The large comapnies are pursuing the growth strategy of keeping an eye out for successful new products and integrating these into their product ranges.

 

 

How many products are accepted in the long term?

Attif Gharbi: A very small proportion. Which is why innovative marketing concepts are so important. We have a big innovation driver. It’s comparable to fashion: Jeans and t-shirts are like coke and OJ, they will always have a market. And on the other hand we have hip products that will only last a season, such as energy drinks with very unique flavors.

Jonas Neidinger: … Curry flavor for example …

Really?!

Jonas Neidinger: We see cool concepts all the time that are not well received by our clients. This led us to get involved with Startup Mannheim, as we can connect directly with people that are keen on starting up. Along with good product concepts we offer appropriate technical support, contacts and know-how regarding food legislation. What am I allowed to put on my label, and what must be on it? These kinds of questions are not trivial and should be dealt with accordingly! This is the support we offer start-ups when launching their products.

 

 

Should a startup find great success, how are the rights of use distributed?

Attif Gharbi: It always depends on the individual case. But to break it down I will give an example: We develop a recipe for a soft drink, and so the intellectual property and copyright for the recipe belongs to us. A startup then brings the a product to the market, including the brand name and marketing concept, so the property right consisting of an exclusive right to use that trade mark belongs to the startup.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG

Photos: Julian Beekmann

www.wildflavors.com

www.food2market.io

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Recent Posts

Food-to-Market-Hack

Ein Hackerthon der anderen Art

Im März startet im Kreativwirtschaftszentrum C-HUB der „Food-to-Market-Hack“. Organisiert wird das Event von Startup Mannheim im Auftrag vom Eppelheimer Unternehmen WILD Flavors & Specialty Ingredients, das zum Lebensmittelkonzern ADM gehört. Wir sprachen mit den drei Organisatoren Attif Gharbi, Maria Uhlmann und Jonas Neidinger über den Hackerthon und die Chancen für Lebensmittel-Startups.

 

Ein Lebensmittel-Hackerthon? Treffen sich da 50 junge Leute in der Großküche?

Attif Gharbi: Das Event dreht sich nicht um das Kochen, sondern verfolgt einen Go-to-market-Ansatz. Wir suchen nach Gründern mit neuen Ideen, die innovative Produkte vermarkten wollen. Wie positioniere ich das Produkt? Wie muss ich die Zielgruppe ansprechen? Wie muss man das Produkt anpreisen? Pack ich das Produkt zu „Hello Fresh“ mit in die Box? Oder gehe ich zu Lidl oder Nestlé?

Jonas Neidinger: Deshalb heißt das Event auch Food-to-market-Hack. Hack kommt von Hackerthon, also einer Veranstaltung, bei der an einem Wochenende Prototypen programmiert werden. Wir programmieren allerdings nicht, sondern überlegen uns Marketing-Konzepte.

 

Die Organisatoren: Jonas Neidinger, Attif Gharbi und Maria Uhlmann

 

Wie läuft das dann genau ab?

Attif Gharbi: Wir haben innovative Produkte, die alle market-ready sind. Wir suchen Leute, die Lust haben, diese Produkte an den Markt zu bringen und das dann auch mit Feuer und Flamme versuchen und nicht nur beim Event mitmachen und nur das Preisgeld von 4000 Euro mitnehmen. Wir wenden uns an Leute, denen vielleicht ein Produkt fehlt oder die den großen Aufwand scheuen, ein Produkt selbst zur Marktreife zu entwickeln. Gerne können die Teilnehmer Gründungserfahrung haben. Für jemanden die/ der sich selbstständig machen will, ist das ein super Paket.

Jonas Neidinger: Wir werden die Ideen und Produkte vorher nicht veröffentlichen. Erst auf dem Hackerthon erfahren die Teams, um welche Produkte es geht. Es gibt voraussichtlich drei Produkte, unter denen die Teams auswählen können. Die Produkte werden von unseren Experten vorgestellt, um sich für einen Favoriten entscheiden zu können. Begeisterung für das Produkt ist ein starker Treiber und auch Erfolgsfaktor für Startups. Wir suchen Gründer, die von einer Sache wirklich überzeugt sind, deshalb ist es wichtig, dass sie hinter ihrer Entscheidung stehen.

Maria Uhlmann: Wir lassen die Teams auch selbst entscheiden, weil wir nicht unsere Denkmuster übertragen wollen. Wir suchen ja gerade den frischen Blick der Leute, die andere Vermarktungskonzepte im Kopf haben – Store-in-store-Konzepte oder ganz andere Ideen. Bis ein Produkt beim Handel im Regal steht, muss es im Mainstream angekommen sein und es braucht zwei Jahre, bis ein Produkt dort platziert wird. Startups haben ja eine ganz andere Dynamik – bei großen Lebensmittelherstellern kann die Einführung eines neuen Produktes Jahre dauern. Nun wollen wir Leute finden, die es einfach machen.

 

 

Und wo wird gefoodhackt?

Maria Uhlmann: Zwei Tage lang im Gründungszentrum C-HUB im Mannheimer Jungbusch. Im Anschluss wollen wir in Kooperation mit Startup Mannheim direkt Gründungen vorantreiben. Auf ihrem Weg zum Kunden werden wir die Startups voll unterstützen.

… und auch auf dem Weg zu Investoren?

Jonas Neidinger: Gegebenenfalls auch das, ja! Oder wir stellen eine Erstproduktion bereit oder ähnliches. Aber wir verteilen keine Freifahrtscheine. Wir schauen uns die Konzepte sehr genau an. Die Finanzierung ist dann aber eigentlich nicht mehr so ein riesiges Problem, weil bei unseren Lebensmittelinnovationen die kostspieligen Entwicklungsarbeiten und Tests bereits erledigt sind. Es geht uns auch nicht darum, eine Investition zu leisten, um ein paar Jahre später mit einer Rendite wieder auszusteigen, sondern wir wollen wirklich nachhaltig ein Produkt aufbauen. Büroinfrastruktur, Beratung, Arbeitsplätze und so weiter bringt dann unser Partner Startup Mannheim ein.

Welche Zielgruppe hat der Food-Hackerthon im Fokus?

Maria Uhlmann: Alle, die sich berufen fühlen: Designer, Marketingexperten, junge Menschen mit guten Ideen. Wer Lust und Ideen hat, kann sich bewerben! Am Ende des Workshops kann zum Beispiel auch ein Design stehen oder ein ganz neuer Vertriebskanal.

Welche Chancen und welche Perspektiven gibt es für Startups im Foodbereich?

Jonas Neidinger: In Europa ist der Markt bei Getränken sehr gesättigt. Die Produktpalette stagniert. Aber Kelloggs hat zum Beispiel in den USA gerade für 600 Millionen Dollar ein Startup aufgekauft, die im Grunde nur ein Produkt herstellen: Protein-Riegel. Die haben in der Garage angefangen, sind mit ihrem Produkt von Store zu Fitnessstudio gelaufen und haben es angeboten. Die Verpackung hatten sie mit PowerPoint designt, aber das Produkt kam gut an und hatte einen Wahnsinnserfolg. Eine Wachstumsstrategie von großen Konzernen ist, dass andere Produktinnovationen auf den Markt bringen und die Konzerne die erfolgreichen Konzepte in ihr Portfolio aufnehmen.

 

 

Wie viele Produkte setzen sich dauerhaft am Markt durch?

Attif Gharbi: Die Quote ist schon sehr gering, deshalb braucht es ja innovative Marketing-Ideen. Wir haben selbst einen sehr großen Innovationsmotor. Das ist bei uns wie in der Mode: da hast Du zum Beispiel Jeans und T-Shirts, das sind quasi der O-Saft und die Cola, die werden auch in 20 Jahren noch da sein und konsumiert werden. Und dann hast du hippe Produkte, die nur eine Saison halten, beispielsweise Energy Drinks mit einem ganz speziellen Geschmack.

Jonas Neidinger: … Curry Wurst Energy zum Beispiel…

Tatsächlich!?

Jonas Neidinger: Ja, es gibt echt immer wieder Konzepte, die cool sind, bei denen unsere Kunden aber sagen: Das passt nicht zu uns! So sind wir dann auf Startup Mannheim gekommen. Also sprechen wir jetzt mit Leuten, die Bock haben, zu gründen. Neben guten Produktkonzepten bieten wir die technischen Voraussetzungen, Kontakte sowie Knowhow, was Lebensmittelrecht betrifft: Was darf ich auf mein Label draufschreiben? Und was muss ich draufschreiben? Das ist weder trivial, noch auf die leichte Schulter zu nehmen! Diesen Support können wir Startups beim Launchen ihres Produktes bieten.

 

 

Und wenn ein Startup ein Produkt erfolgreich vermarktet – wie sind das die Verwertungsrechte geregelt?

Attif Gharbi: Es kommt immer auf den Einzelfall an, aber ganz allgemein gesprochen verhält es sich so: Wir haben zum Beispiel die Rezeptur für ein Getränk entwickelt, dann liegt das geistige Eigentum als Urheberrecht für das Konzept bei uns. Das Startup bringt ein Produkt auf den Markt, kreiert den Produktnamen und das gesamte Vermarktungskonzept. Das Recht zur Verwertung dieser Marke liegt komplett beim Startup.


Interview: Paul Heesch / LA.MAG

Fotos: Julian Beekmann

www.wildflavors.com

www.food2market.io

Beitrag teilen: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn



Neueste Beiträge